Ingram, Dareus Spring Winners

The last time media had an opportunity to vote for outstanding players in an Alabama football game was in the final minutes of the Crimson Tide's BCS victory over Texas. In that vote, in the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, writers could wait until the final three minutes to cast their ballots.

In Alabama's A-Day Game Saturday, the media had to vote for the Dixie Howell Award winner as the game's most valuable player and the Dwight Stephenson Award winner as the game's best lineman with a full quarter to go.

Nevertheless, the results were identical as to those in Bama's national championship game. In the BCS title game, Crimson Tide tailback Mark Ingram was most valuable offensive player and defensive end Marcell Dareus was most valuable defensive player. In the A-Day Game, Ingram won the Dixie Howell Award and Dareus the Dwight Stephenson Award. Both are upcoming juniors.

Ingram finished with 121 all-purpose yards, 10 carries for 90 yards (including a 60-yard run) and four pass receptions for 31 yards. Dareus was credited with three tackles plus a qurterback sack. He was in on two tackles for loss and had two quarterback hurries.

The coaching staff also selected players for awards. The spring training awards, begun in 1971 by Coach Paul "Bear" Bryant, have been expanded and adjusted over the years.

This year's winners are:

Lee Roy Jordan Headhunter Award: Marcell Dareus and Mark Barron.

Jerry Duncan I Like To Practice Award: David Ross, Preston Dial, and B.J. Scott

Billy Neighbors Most Improved Defensive Lineman Award: Josh Chapman

Bobby Johns Most Improved Defensive Back Award: Dre Kirkpatrick

Woodrow Lowe Most Improved Linebacker Award: Courtney Upshaw

Paul Crane Most Improved Offensive Lineman Award: James Carpenter

Ray Perkins Most Improved Receiver Award: Darius Hanks

Johnny Musso Most Improved Offensive Back Award: Trent Richardson

Bart Starr Most Improved Player Award: Michael Williams and Chris Jordan

Ozzie Newsome Most Improved Freshman Award: Chance Warmack, A.J. McCarron, DeMarcus Milliner, and Tana Patrick

Paul "Bear" Bryant Best Non-Scholarship Player Award: Hardie Buck and Will Lowery

Mal Moore Leadership Award: Greg McElroy and Dont'a Hightower

Sylvester Croom Commitment To Excellence Award: Julio Jones and Luther Davis

Derrick Thomas Community Service Award: Barrett Jones and Mark Ingram

BamaMag Top Stories