Stallings Elected To Hall Of Fame

Former Alabama Football Coach Gene Stallings, whose Crimson Tide teams won 70 games in his seven-year career, including the dramatic 1992 national championship game over Miami, has been elected to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Gene Stallings becomes the fourth former Alabama head football coach to be elected to the College Football Hall of Fame. The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame announced its latest class Thursday in New York.

Previous Alabama head football coaches selected have been Wallace Wade, who was 61-13-3 at Alabama (1923-30), Frank Thomas, who was 115-24-7 from 1931 through 1946,and Paul Bryant, who was 232-46-9 from 1958 through 1982.

Stallings, who played for Bryant at Texas A&M and coached under Bryant at A&M and at Alabama, was also head football coach at Texas A&M, including coaching the Aggies to a memorable 20-16 Cotton Bowl victory over Bryant and Alabama following the 1967 season.

At Alabama, Stallings had a record of 70-16-1, including a 5-1 bowl record.

Stallings directed Alabama to a 28-21 victory over Florida in the first ever Southeastern Conference Championship Game at the conclusion of the 1992 season, then led Bama to a 34-13 upset of number one ranked Miami and Heisman Trophy winner Gino Toretta in the Sugar Bowl to give Bama its 12th national championship and mosst recent title until Nick Saban coached Bama to the 2009 national championship.

The late Pat Tillman and Heisman Trophy winner Desmond Howard are others among the 14 newly elected members of the College Football Hall of Fame.

Tillman played linebacker for Arizona State from 1994-97 and gave up an NFL career to enlist in the Army in 2002. He killed while serving in Afghanistan in 2004.

Howard was a wide receiver for Michigan and won the Heisman 1991.

The newly elected Hall of Fame coaches are Barry Alvarez and Stallings.

The other players in the new Hall class include Dennis Byrd of North Carolina State; Ronnie Caveness of Arkansas; Ray Childress of Texas A&M; Randy Cross of UCLA; Sam Cunningham of USC; Mark Herrmann of Purdue; Clarkston Hines of Duke; Chet Moeller of Navy; Jerry Stovall of LSU; and Alfred Williams of Colorado.

BamaMag Top Stories