Analyzing the 2003 Recruiting Class

One good measure of a recruiting class, is to examine how many of the players from that group are still playing on the team and what their level of contribution is. Here's an analysis of that class.

Arizona State University Football National Letter of Intent Signing Class of 2003
(All data according to

Total Signees: 19
High School Signees: 16
Junior College Signees: 3
Arizona Natives: 4
Players that Transferred: 5
Players that Earn Degrees From ASU 8

Top Five Most Valuable Signees

1. Mike Pollak
2. Rudy Burgess
3. Jesse Ainsworth
4. Josh Barrett
5. Brandon Rodd

Top Three Most Disappointing Signees

1. Darnel Henderson
2. Michael Affleck
3. Brett Palmer

Honors and Awards Won By Class of 2003 Signees

National and Conference Awards

Chris MacDonald, P (Freshman All-America)*
2007:	Mike Pollak, OL (Midseason All-America)

2004:	Justin Burks, LB (Honorable Mention)
2005:	Rudy Burgess, TB/WR (Honorable Mention)
Brandon Rodd, OL (Honorable Mention)

2006:	Mike Pollak, OL (Second Team)
Josh Barrett, S (Honorable Mention)
Kyle Caldwell, DE (Honorable Mention)
Brandon Rodd, OL (Honorable Mention)

Academic All-America:	
2004:	Jesse Ainsworth, K 
(CoSIDA Academic All-District VII)

Academic All-Pac-10:
2004:	Chris MacDonald, P (First Team)*
Jesse Ainsworth, K (Second Team)
Brandon Rodd, OL (Honorable Mention)

2005:	Jesse Ainsworth, K (First Team)
Chris MacDonald, P (Honorable Mention)*
Brandon Rodd, OL (Honorable Mention)
2006:	Josh Barrett, S (First Team)
Jesse Ainsworth, K (First Team)
Brandon Rodd, OL (Second Team)
Brett Palmer, DL (Honorable Mention)

ASU Team Award Recipients

Most Valuable Player			
2006:	Josh Barrett, S (Defense)

Freshman of the Year:			

2003:	Kyle Caldwell, DE (Defense)

Special Teams Iron Man:	
2005:	Josh Barrett
2006:	Tyrice Thompson

Team Captains Award:
2006:	Josh Barrett, Mike Pollak				

Scout Team Awards:	
2003:	Rudy Burgess, WR (Offense)
	Josh Barrett, S (Defense)
2004:	Kellen Mills, DE (Defense)*

Most Outstanding Offensive
2006:	Mike Pollak

Clyde B. Smith Academic Award:	

2005:	Jesse Ainsworth	

Babe Alex Demon Award:	
2004:	Jesse Ainsworth

Hard Hat Champion:	
2006:	Mike Pollak
2007:	Kellen Mills*
*-walked on in 2003

Joe Healey is a 2006 graduate of Arizona State University and will be a guest contributor to Devils Digest during the 2007 football season. He currently writes for ASU's Maroon and Gold Illustrated and his work has also been featured in Sun Devil football media guides and other official team publications.

Sun Devil Source Top Stories