Newcomers report

Newcomers reported on Tuesday as they were fitted for equipment and took one more step towards starting the regular season.

Arizona Fall Camp doesn't officially start for another few days, but the smell of football was in the air on Tuesday, as UA newcomers filed into McKale Center to get fitted for equipment.

While there's not a lot of new information to report on, 34 new Arizona Wildcats finally felt what it was like to put on an Arizona Wildcat uniform, as trainers made sure helmets, shoulder pads, and facemasks fit to perfection.

Ka'Deem Carey, Rob Hankins, Patrick Onwuasor, Reggie Gilbert, Jaime Salazar, Hank Hobson, and Dame Ndiaye are just some of the fresh faces that could very well make an immediate impact on this year's team, and they may have to if Arizona hopes to finish better than its projected fourth place ranking in the Pac-12 South.

Even though the newcomers won't be available to talk with the media until the end of fall camp, you didn't need to speak with them to see how eager they were to finally get things started at Arizona.

Ka'Deem Carey was seen laughing and smiling while trying on different sized helmets, while also making the all-important decision on whether or not to go with the visor. Now converted into a receiver, Patrick Onwuasor looked like he was in as good of shape as anyone, and it was easy to see why he might have a chance to catch some balls this year.

Overall the mood was loose, as a trainer joked with kicker Jaime Salazar about possibly of attaching a full on cage to his helmet.

Tuesday was a day to get acquainted, but that won't last long, as by the end of the week, Arizona camp will be fully under way. The Wildcats will soon begin their journey toward a fourth straight bowl appearance in what is expected to be one of the more unpredictable seasons in recent Arizona football memory.

Tuesday, Aug. 2: Newcomers Report

Wednesday, Aug. 3:Veterans Report

Thursday, Aug. 4: Practice #1

Friday, Aug. 5: Practice #2

Saturday, Aug. 6: Practice #3

Sunday, Aug. 7: Practice #4

Monday, Aug. 8: Practice #5

Tuesday, Aug. 9: Practice #6

Wednesday, Aug. 10: Depart for Fort Huachuca

Thursday, Aug. 11: Practices #7 & #8

Friday, Aug. 12: Practice #9

Saturday, Aug. 13: Practice #10

Sunday, Aug. 14: Return to Tucson

Monday, Aug. 15: Practices #11 & #12

Tuesday, Aug. 16: Practice #13

Wednesday, Aug. 17: Practices #14 & #15

Thursday, Aug. 18: Practice #16

Friday, Aug. 19: Practices #17 & 18

Saturday, Aug. 20: Meet the Team Night -- Scrimmage at Arizona Stadium (6 p.m.)

Monday, Aug. 22: Classes Begin

Tuesday, Aug. 23: Regular season practices begin


Wildcat Authority Top Stories