Wise hits the game winner in Pangos Top-40 game

CYPRESS, Calif. - Nic Wise, just a freshman, wasn't in awe of the competiton. The future Arizona Wildcat drilled a 3-pointer in OT to win a game at the Pangos All-American Camp.


Blue 76, White 73 (OT): Not only are all-star games rarely competitive, but when is the last time you saw a high school all-star game go into overtime? Well, it happened on Sunday at the Pangos Top 40 game.

Lorenzo Keeler, a shooting guard on the White team, drained what appeared to be the game-winning pull-up jumper. However, Antonio Kellogg was fouled as time expired and went to the line with his team trialing by a point. Kellogg made the first free and missed the second attempt, sending the game into overtime.

Nic Wise ended the sudden death session with a right-wing 3-pointer to give his team the win. The freshman point guard's deep triple was a fitting way to end a good weekend for himself.

The Blue stars were slow getting out of the gate and fell behind early as guard Robert McIver couldn't miss from downtown. He hit three 3-pointers in the first 10 minutes of the game as his team took an early 17-8 lead.

Clifford Clinksdale of the Blue squad then began reeling McKiver and the boys back in. The New York native scored 7 points and handed out 6 assists to go with his three steals. Clinksdale would have been our pick for the MVP of the game if one had been named. His work all weekend long warrants attention.

McKiver and Chris Berry each scored 10 points each in the loss. Draelon Burns of Milwaukee led the way with 14 points.

GAME NOTES:, Like the Top 20 game, a 20-minute running clock was used in both halves. … Marcel Jones, Titus Shelton and Brett Hoerner were named to the game but Jones was not in attendance on Sunday and Hoerner and Shelton were injured. They were replaced by Perick Robinson and Joseph Johnson. …

Top 40 All-Star Game Selections: Blue: Nic Wise (2006), Clifford Clinksdale (2004), Antonio Kellogg (2004), Matt Sargeant (2004), Matthew Thomas (2004), Kyle Weaver (2004), Marcel Jones (2004), Sammy Hernandez (2005), Lawrence Hill (2004), Todd Follmer (2004), Titus Shelton (2005). White: Rico Tucker (2004), Lorenzo Keeler (2004), Ralph MIley (2004), Robert McKiver (2004), Curtis Allen (2004), Draelon Burns (2004), Chris Berry (2004), Chris Berry (2004), Shane Clark (2005), Tai Wesley (2004), Ephraim Johnson (2004), Brett Hoerner (2005). Alternates: Perick Robinson (2004), Kyle Brucceleri (2004), Tim Shelton (2007), Joseph Johnson (2006).

Wildcat Authority Top Stories