Volleyball team picked third in Pac-10

TUCSON, Ariz.- The defending Pac-10 co-champion Arizona volleyball team has been picked to finish third by the conference coaches, the Pac-10 announced today. The Wildcats, who received 72 points, were edged out by only USC, with whom they shared the 2000 title, and Stanford. The Wildcats were picked to finish fourth last season.

Led by 2000 Pac-10 Coach of the Year Dave Rubio Arizona returns four starters in 2001, including the reigning Pac-10 Player of the Year Dana Burkholder. The Wildcats advanced to the Elite Eight in 2000 and finished fifth in the final poll, the highest end of the season ranking in school history.

The coaches have correctly selected the Pac-10 Champion in eight of 12 previous polls. Following are the results of the preseason coaches poll. Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own team. First place votes are in parentheses.

2001 Pac-10 Volleyball Coaches Poll
Rank    Team            Points (10 for first-9 for second-etc.)
1.	USC (6)		87
2.	Stanford (4)	84
3.	Arizona 	72
4.	UCLA		69
5.	Washington State55
6.	Arizona State 	52
7.	California 	41
8.	Oregon State	32
9.	Oregon		28
10.	Washington	20

Wildcat Authority Top Stories