Important football dates

The Wildcats have released a tentative fall schedule for the football team. Players report on August 8th and practice gets underway the next day. The Wildcats get almost a month of practice before officially kicking off the season with the game against Northern Arizona.

New coach Mike Stoops will be introduced to the Pac-10 media on July 28th, at the Pac-10's annual Media Day. Accompanying him will be junior running back Mike Bell. The past three season John Mackovic has elected to take a senior with him. Last year it was Brandon Phillips, Brandon Nash and Jason Johnson attended the two previous years.

Like in spring drills, practices are closed to the public. As of now scrimmages are open to the public and there are plans for three of them during preseason practice. All three are scheduled for Saturdays. The media will again be allowed in for the first 25 minutes.

Some important dates:

Sun., Aug 8: Players report
Mon., Aug 9: Rookie Orientation, First practice
Sat., Aug 14 Evening scrimmage (should be open)
Sat., Aug 20 Fan appreciation night, tentative scrimmage
Mon., Aug 23 Classes begin, regular practice schedule
Thurs., Aug 26 Kickoff Luncheon at Doubletree
Fri., Aug 27 Phoenix Kickoff Dinner, Airport Marriott
Sat., Aug 28 Tentative scrimmage; single-game tickets go on sale
Sat., Sept 4 Season opener vs. NAU, 7p.m. Arizona stadium

2004 Schedule

Day Date Opponent Location TV Outcome/Time
Sat 09/04/2004 Northern Arizona Tucson, Ariz.   7 p.m.
Sat 09/11/2004 Utah Tucson, Ariz.   7 p.m.
Sat 09/18/2004 Wisconsin Tucson, Ariz. Fox Sports Net 1 p.m.
Sat 09/25/2004 Washington State Tucson, Ariz. ABC Sports 12:30 p.m.
Sat 10/09/2004 UCLA Pasadena, Calif.   12:30 p.m.
Sat 10/16/2004 Oregon Eugene, Ore.   12:30 p.m.
Sat 10/23/2004 California Tucson, Ariz.   4 p.m.
Sat 10/30/2004 Oregon State Tucson, Ariz.   4 p.m.
Sat 11/06/2004 Washington Seattle, Wash.   1:30 p.m.
Sat 11/13/2004 USC Los Angeles, Calif. Fox Sports Net 7:15 p.m.
Fri 11/26/2004 Arizona State Tucson, Ariz. Fox Sports Net 1 p.m.

For tickets call (520) 621-CATS


Wildcat Authority Top Stories