Two future Cats named Parade All-Americans

Arizona had two recruits named to the 2006 Parade All-American team. If both players indeed suit up for the Wildcats, they will be 14th and 15th Parade All-Americans to play for Lute Olson in Tucson. All told, Arizona has attracted 20 Parade All-Americans to the program.

Senior Chase Budinger and junior Jerryd Bayless were both named Parade All-Americans. Although many of the names on the team had previously been leaked, the complete list was released on Sunday in the popular weekly news magazine.

Budinger, the co-MVP of the McDonald's All-American game, was named to the first team. He set a regional scoring record while at La Costa Canyon High School just north of San Diego. This season he averaged 32 points and 10 rebounds for the Maverick who won their CIF Regional Championship.

The 6-8 wing has signed his letter of intent to play for the Wildcats and is expected to be a major contributor in his first season.

Phoenix's Jerryd Bayless made the magazine's fourth team. Only a junior, Bayless verbally committed to the Wildcats back in November, but cannot sign his Letter Of Intent until next fall.

Bayless averaged well over 30 points a game, including a 53-point performance over Chandler early in the season. He led St. Mary's to the 5A-I Desert Valley Region Championship before losing to Mountain Pointe in the second round of the 5A-I state tournament.

He has maintained his commitment to the Wildcats despite pressure from a number of programs. He was at numerous Wildcat games this season, including the home finale against Washington.


2006: Chase Budinger, Carlsbad, CA (1st Team)

2006: Jerryd Bayless, Phoenix, AZ (4th Team) Only a junior, has not signed a LOI

2005: J.P. Prince, Memphis, TN (3rd Team)

2004: Jawann McClellan, Houston, TX (2nd Team)

2003: Ndudi Ebi, Houston, TX (1st team) went to NBA

2002: Hassan Adams, Los Angeles, CA (2nd Team)

2002: Chris Rodgers, Portland, OR (3rd Team)

2001: Channing Frye, Phoenix, AZ (4th Team)

1999: Jason Gardner, Indianapolis, IN (2nd Team)

1998: Richard Jefferson, Phoenix, AZ (4th Team)

1998: Jason Gardner, Indianapolis, IN (4th Team)

1997: Luke Recker, Waterloo, IN (2nd Team)transferred from Indiana to Arizona, but proceeded to transfer to Iowa before ever suiting up for the Wildcats.

1996: Mike Bibby, Phoenix, AZ (1st Team)

1996: Stephen Jackson, Mouth of Wilson, VA (2nd Team) never enrolled due to academics

1996: Loren Woods, St. Louis, MO (3rd Team) originally signed with Wake Forest, transferred to Arizona

1991: Ben Davis, Mouth of Wilson, VA (2nd Team) originally signed with Kansas, transferred to Arizona from JC

1990: Khalid Reeves, New York, NY (2nd Team)

1988: Orlando Vega, Mouth of Wilson, VA (4th Team) left school prior to 1989 season

1987: Chris Mills, Los Angeles, CA (2nd Team) originally signed with Kentucky

1987: Mark Georgeson, Huntington Beach, CA (3rd Team) left program after redshirtting in 1988

1985: Craig McMillan, Cloverdale, CA (3rd Team)

Note: Leon Wood who played the 1980 season under Fred Snowden was a 3rd Team All-American in 1979.

Wildcat Authority Top Stories