Another College World Series

The top-seeded Arizona softball team defeated Cal State Fullerton 2-1 to capture the Tucson Super Regional, as part of the NCAA Division I Softball Championships.

The victory gives Arizona its 19th berth to the Women's College World Series in the last 20 years. The Wildcats will take on eighth-seeded Baylor on Thursday, May 31, at ASA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City at a time to be determined.

Arizona will enter the WCWS with a 44-12-1 record, while Fullerton concludes its 2007 campaign with a 38-23 mark.

Taryne Mowatt (36-10) allowed one run on three hits in her fifth postseason victory of 2007.

Candice Baker (21-14), who threw all but 2 2/3 innings of Fullerton's seven postseason games, took the loss. The Cypress, Calif., native ends her career as Fullerton's all-time leader for strikeouts in a career. The hurler gave up just two runs on four hits a day after her defense fueled nine Wildcat unearned runs.

After two scoreless innings, Arizona put a pair of runs on the board. Sam Banister led off with a walk and was lifted for pinch runner Cyndi Duran. K'Lee Arredondo, who was celebrating her 19th birthday, tagged a ball that skipped off the very top of the padding on the outfield fence for a double. The two-bagger put runners at second and third for Adrienne Acton, who singled up the middle to plate Duran and Arredondo.

Acton led all hitters with a .500 (2-for-4) average in the super regional.

The score held firm until Fullerton cut the deficit in half with a solo home run in the fourth. Courtney Martinez hit a towering fly ball that barely stayed fair down the left field line for her eighth home run of the year.

Game Notes:

- Arizona will make its 19th Women's College World Series appearance in the last 20 years.
- Arizona improves to 55-6 in NCAA games held in Tucson.
- Arizona's 5 through 9 hitters went 9-for-23 (.391) at the plate in the two super regional games.
- Kristie Fox snapped a season-high 10-game hit streak.
- Taryne Mowatt earned her 36th victory of the season, tying her with Nancy Evans for third most wins in a season in UA history.

Wildcat Authority Top Stories