What If: The NCAA got it right

In an unprecedented move the NCAA announced that they have made a grave error and scrapped the whole BCS idea. The organization realized that the whole system was flawed and that they needed to institute a college football championship tournament. On Thursday morning they not only instituted the tournament but announced the pairings, dates and locations.

The tournament will be a sixteen-team tournament, with the first round hosted on home sites. The Championship game will be played on January 12th at the Fiesta Bowl in Tempe, Arizona. The quarter and semi-finals will also be played at existing bowl games.

Team will be seeded based on the BCS formula. Six conferences gain automatic bids, the Big East, Big 10, SEC, Pac-10, Big 12 and ACC. The five remaining conferences receive provisional bids. Teams from small conferences qualify for the tournament provided their win-loss record is better than the bottom four seeds of the BCS ratings (BCS rates 15, not 16 teams). The provisional teams will be ranked using a formula that factors in wins, opponents' wins and conference strength.

In the case of this year's tournament the qualifying conference champions are as follows:
Automatic Bids:
ACC: Florida State
Big 12: Oklahoma
Big East: Miami (Fla)
Big Ten: Ohio State
Pac-10: Washington State
SEC: Georgia

Provisional Bids:
Conf USA: TCU 9-2
MAC: Marshall 9-2
MWC: Colorado State 10-3
WAC: Boise State 11-1

Sun Belt: North Texas 7-5

At-Large Qualifiers:
USC, Iowa, Kansas State, Notre Dame, Texas, Michigan.


First Round

Tuesday, December 17

Game 1, at Miami, Fla.
(1)Miami 12-0 vs. (16) Boise State

Game 2, at Manhattan, Kan.
(8)Kansas State vs. (9) Notre Dame

Game 3, at Iowa City, Iowa
(5)Iowa vs. (12) Florida State

Wednesday, December 18

Game 4, at Los Angeles, Calif
(4) USC vs. (13)Marshall

Game 5, at Athens, Geor.
(3)Georgia vs. (14)Colorado State

Game 6, at Pullman, Wash.
(6)Washington State vs. (11)Michigan

Thursday, December 19th

Game 7, at Norman, Oklahoma
(7)Oklahoma vs. (10)Texas

Game 8, at Columbus, Ohio
(2)Ohio State vs. (15)TCU

Second Round

Tuesday, December 24th

Game 9, at Gator Bowl, Jacksonville, Fl.
Mia/BSU vs. KSU/ND

Game 10, at Rose Bowl, Pasadena, Calif.
Iowa/FSU vs. Marshall/USC

Wednesday, December 25th

Game 11, Cotton Bowl, Dallas, Tex.
UGA/CSU vs. WSU/Mich

Game 12, Citrus Bowl, Tampa Fl.
Okl/Tx vs. OSU/TCU


Wednesday, January 1

Game 13, Orange Bowl, Miami, Fl.
Winner game 9 vs. Winner game 10

Game 14, Sugar Bowl, New Orleans, LA.
Winner game 11 vs. Winner game 12

National Championship
Saturday, January 12
Fiesta Bowl, Tempe, Ariz.
Winner game 13 vs. Winner game 14

Stay tuned for the results…

Cat Tracks will have the results based on a super secret formula on the dates listed above. The Cat Tracks Mock Champion will be crowned on the 12th of January.

Discuss this story on the FOOTBALL MESSAGE BOARD

Wildcat Authority Top Stories