Stanek, Anderson Named All-SEC

Arkansas junior pitcher Ryne Stanek and Razorback sophomore outfielder Brian Anderson were both named to the Coaches All-SEC squad on Tuesday.

Two Razorback baseball players were named to the All-SEC team on Tuesday as voted on by the league's coaches.

Arkansas junior pitcher Ryne Stanek was named to the All-SEC first team while Razorback sophomore outfielder Brian Anderson was named to the second team.

Stanek was 9-2 this season with an SEC low 1.40 ERA - including a 7-1 with a league-leading 0.97 ERA in 10 starts in league play.

"It is a great honor to be thought of highly like that," Stanek said. "There are a lot of really good pitchers and players in this conference. It is pretty cool to be selected for something like that."

He worked six or more innings in seven of his 10 SEC starts and allowed one run or less in nine of those starts.

He also was 4-0 with an 0.33 ERA after the Razorbacks had lost the opening game of a series.

Anderson hit. 338 this season with 4 homers and 38 RBIs. in SEC play, he hit .371 with 3 homers and 16 RBIs.

In SEC games only, Anderson was fourth in the league in average, tied for third in slugging percentage (.581), second in on-base percentage (.472), tied for fifth in runs scored (24), sixth in hits (39) and tied for first in triples.

"It really is an honor to be named with the outfielders that I have seen in the SEC," Anderson said. "A lot of those have been swinging really good and playing great defense. Guys like Raph Rhymes and Hunter Renfro. Seeing my name next to theirs is really an honor."

Vanderbilt's Tony Kemp was named the league's MVP while LSU's Aaron Nola was named the SEC pitcher of the year.

SEC PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt



SEC SCHOLAR-ATHLETE OF THE YEAR - Sam Frost, Mississippi State

SEC?COACH?OF?THE?YEAR - Tim Corbin, Vanderbilt


1B - Mason Katz, LSU

2B - Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt

3B - Christian Ibarra, LSU

SS - Alex Bregman, LSU

C - Stuart Turner, Ole Miss

OF - Hunter Renfroe, Mississippi State

OF?- Mike Yastrzemski, Vanderbilt

OF - Raph Rhymes, LSU

DH/UTL - Keaton Steele, Missouri/A.J. Reed, Kentucky

P - Ryne Stanek, Arkansas

P - Aaron Nola, LSU

RP - Jonathan Holder, Mississippi State


1B - Garrett Cooper, Auburn

2B - Brett Pirtle, Mississippi State/Jacoby Jones, LSU

3B - Curt Powell, Georgia/Andrew Mistone, Ole Miss

SS - Mikey Reynolds, Texas A&M/Mikey White, Alabama

C - Grayson Greiner, South Carolina

OF - Connor Harrell, Vanderbilt

OF - Brian Anderson, Arkansas

OF - Krey Bratsen, Texas A&M

DH/UTL - Daniel Mengden, Texas A&M

P - Tyler Beede, Vanderbilt

P - Bobby Wahl, Ole Miss

RP - Tyler Webb, South Carolina


1B - Josh Lester, Missouri

2B - Kyle Overstreet, Alabama

3B - Xavier Turner, Vanderbilt

SS - Alex Bregman, LSU

C - Greg Fettes, Kentucky

OF -Kyle Barrett, Kentucky

OF?- Vincent Jackson, Tennessee

OF - Harrison Bader, Florida

DH/UTL - Zander Wiel, Vanderbilt

P - Jack Wynkoop, South Carolina

P - Sean McLaughlin, Georgia

RP - Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt/Ray Castillo, Alabama


P - Daniel Mengden, Texas A&M

1B - Mason Katz, LSU; Cole Lankford, Texas A&M

2B - Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt

SS - Adam Frazier, Mississippi State

3B - Christian Ibarra, LSU

C - Stuart Turner, Ole Miss

OF - Austin Cousino, Kentucky

OF - Mike Yastrzemski, Vanderbilt

OF?- Hunter Renfroe, Mississippi State

Ryne Stanek

Brian Anderson

Hawgs Daily Top Stories