Future Razorback QBs On Display

Arkansas football fans can get a chance to see Razorback 2014 signal caller commit Rafe Peavey (6-2, 212) and 2015 pledge Ty Storey (6-3, 215) at next weekend's Southwest Elite Showcase 7-on-7 tournament n Springdale.

The Southwest Elite Showcase 7-on-7 tournament at Shiloh Christian has always had a buzz about it, but this year's certainly tops it all.

That's because the event – which gets underway next Friday – will also include events that feature New England Patriot Tim Tebow as well as former NFL head coach Herm Edwards in addition to having two Arkansas quarterback commits and a Razorback tight end pledge highlighting the on-field talent.

Tebow is the guest speaker at Friday night's soldout Influencers Rally at 7 p.m. while Edwards joins Arkansas Governor Mike Beebe and Walmart US President and CEO Bill Simon as three of the panelists for the Champions of Leadership on Saturday morning.

"That tournament is something that I'm really looking forward to," Arkansas 2015 quarterback commit Ty Storey of Charleston said in a recent interview after committing to the Razorbacks. "There are going to be a lot of great teams and great players. It's really an event."

The actual tournament – featuring over 900 players on 32 teams from 10 states – will start with pool play on Friday morning at 9 a.m. and continue through Saturday night's 6 p.m. championship game.

The headliners for Arkansas football fans are a trio of Razorback pledges – 2014 quarterback Rafe Peavey of Boliver, Mo., 2014 tight end Jack Kraus (6-5, 250) of Bentonville and Storey (6-3, 215)

Arkansas is also recruiting Derby, Kansas, standout DeAndre Goolsby (6-5, 235), one of the nation's best tight end and a heavily recruited 2014 prospect.

"It's going to be very exciting to play in it because there are going to be a lot of great teams and great players and you always want to face great competition," Peavey said. "That's the way you get better as a team and as an individual."

Pool play is scheduled from 9-11:30 a.m. and 1:30-5:30 p.m. on Friday. The first and second round of tournament play will be Saturday morning from 10 a.m to 12:30 p.m with Championship tournament play slated from 1:30-6:30 p.m.

A trio of current Arkansas freshmen quarterback Austin Allen, linebacker Brooks Ellis and safety Alex Brignoni – were on the Fayetteville team that won the 2012 championship.

The winner of the event advances to the play in the National Select 7-on-7 Championship in Hoover, Ala.

The teams scheduled to play and the states they represent:

Alabama (1) - Hoover

Arkansas (11) - Shiloh Christian, Alma, Bentonville, Charleston, El Dorado, Fayetteville, Little Rock Christian, Nashville, Rogers Heritage, Springdale and Springdale Harber

Illinois (1) - Aurora Christian

Kansas (3) – Derby, McPherson and Olathe

Louisiana (2) – Bastrop and Mandeville

Oklahoma (8) - Tulsa Bishop Kelly, Oklahoma City Bishop McGuiness, Bixby, Broken Arrow, Oklahoma City Heritage Hall, McAlester, Stillwater, Tulsa Victory Christian

Mississippi – (3) Olive Branch, Southhaven (Mo.) Desoto Central and West Monroe Ouachita Christian

Missouri (1) - Bolivar

Tennessee (1) – Memphis University High School

Texas (1) - Sherman

Rafe Peavey

Ty Storey

Hawgs Daily Top Stories