Arkansas to Host SMU, Clemson

Arkansas releases its non-conference basketball schedule on Monday with new home-and-home series with SMU and Clemson and the Maui Invitational highlighting the 2013-2014's season early action

New home-and-home series with SMU and Clemson as well as the Maui Invitational are among the highlights of the 2013-2014 non-conference basketball schedule that Arkansas released on Monday.

The two series will both open at Bud Walton Arena with the Mustangs visiting the Razorbacks Nov. 18 in Fayetteville and the Tigers coming in to play Arkansas on Dec. 7.

The Razorbacks will play California on Nov. 25 at 2 p.m. CST in the first round of the three-day Maui Invitational.

"This non-conference schedule will provide our team with a lot of challenges early on," said head coach Mike Anderson. "We know the EA SPORTS Maui Invitational is a premiere event with great teams and we look forward to playing in it. The schedule also gives our loyal fan base an opportunity to watch this team grow and develop. We'll be well prepared for SEC action."

The squad will also play its annual game in North Little Rock when it plays South Alabama on Dec. 21. Arkansas will play Missouri Southern (Nov.1) and Northeastern State (Nov. 5) in exhibitions before opening the season against SIU-Edwardsville on Nov. 8.

The release of Arkansas' non-conference schedule completed the slate for the Razorbacks after the SEC had earlier released its league schedule.

Here is the complete schedule:


Nov. 1 Missouri Southern

Nov. 5 Northeastern State

Regular Season:

Nov. 8 SIU-Edwardsville

Nov. 15 Louisiana

Nov. 18 SMU

Nov. 25-27 Maui Invitational (opening round vs. California, plus two other games)

Dec. 3 Southeastern Louisiana

Dec. 7 Clemson

Dec. 12 Savannah State

Dec. 19 Tennessee-Martin

Dec. 21 South Alabama (in North Little Rock)

Dec. 28 High Point

Jan. 4 Texas San-Antonio

Jan. 8 at Texas A&M

Jan. 11 Florida

Jan. 14 Kentucky

Jan. 18 at Georgia

Jan. 22 at Tennessee

Jan. 25 Auburn

Jan. 28 Missouri

Feb. 1 at LSU

Feb. 5 Alabama

Feb. 8 at Vanderbilt

Feb. 13 at Missouri

Feb. 15 LSU

Feb. 19 South Carolina

Feb. 22 at Mississippi State

Feb. 27 at Kentucky

March 1 Georgia

March 5 Ole Miss

March 8 at Alabama

Hawgs Daily Top Stories