Arkansas Media Relations

Fayetteville Regional with Arkansas Razorbacks, Oklahoma St. Cowboys, ORU Eagles, Missouri State Bears set

Arkansas is the top-seeded team in the Fayetteville Regional.

Baum Stadium will be the site of a baseball regional for the first time since 2010. Arkansas (42-17) is the host school and the top seed. In 2010, the Razorbacks won the Fayetteville Regional and advanced to a Super Regional. 

Joining Arkansas in the Fayetteville Regional are No. 2 Missouri State (40-17), No. 3 Oklahoma State (42-14) and No. 4 Oral Roberts (42-14). The Hogs will take on Oral Roberts at 7 p.m. CT on Friday. At 2 p.m. CT, Oklahoma State and Missouri State will battle. ORU beat North Dakota State 7-0 to win the Summit League title. Oklahoma State beat Texas 6-5 to win the Big 12 Tournament and Missouri State lost to Illinois State 7-2 in the Missouri Valley Conference Tournament finals.

The Hogs beat Missouri State 12-4 on April 11 in Springfield while they also lost to Oklahoma State 8-3 at the Frisco Classic in March.

The Fayetteville Regional is matched up with the Fort Worth Regional that features No. 1 TCU, No. 2 Virginia, No. 3 Dallas Baptist and No. 4 Central Connecticut State. The Horned Frogs are the No. 6 overall seed and would host the super regional if they win their regional.

The last time the Hogs played postseason baseball at Baum Stadium was a 2015 Super Regional because Missouri State's stadium was unavailable. They won it 2-1 and advanced to the College World Series. 

Arkansas got to host a regional by finishing fourth in the SEC overall and lost the SEC Championship Game 4-2 to LSU on Sunday. Arkansas' Chad Spanberger was named the SEC Tournament MVP.

Regional tickets are now on sale. The Razorbacks were one of four SEC schools selected to host a regional. The others were Lexington, Ky., Regional (Kentucky), Baton Rouge, La., Regional (LSU) and Gainesville, Fla., Regional (Florida). 

Hawgs Daily Top Stories