2 Hogs on College Football Hall of Fame ballot

Arkansas has two players on the College Football Hall of Fame ballot.

A pair of former Arkansas players are on the 2018 College Football Hall of Fame ballot released Thursday.

Linebacker Cliff Powell and defensive tackle Dan Hampton are among the best defensive players in the Razorbacks' history and are once again among the 75 on the hall of fame ballot.

A first-team All-American in 1969, Powell helped Arkansas reach back-to-back Sugar Bowls following the 1968 and 1969 seasons. His 367 career tackles stood as a UA record for three decades and currently rank sixth. He was a two-time All-SWC selection

Already in the Pro Football Hall of Fame for his contributions on the Chicago Bears, Hampton was a two-time All-SWC performer and earned first-team All-America honors in 1978. He was a key part of the Arkansas team that knocked off No. 2 Oklahoma in the 1978 Orange Bowl.

Before becoming the fourth overall pick in the 1979 NFL Draft, Hampton made 32 career tackles for loss with the Razorbacks, which was third in school history at the time and is now tied for 12th.

Both players have previously been on the ballot, but have yet to be elected. The 2018 class will be announced Jan. 8, 2018, in Atlanta.

Hawgs Daily Top Stories