Tennessee & LSU Set for SEC Championship

Tennessee and LSU will meet in Atlanta's Georgia Dome on Saturday, Dec. 8 to battle for the Southeastern Conference Championship and the right to represent the conference in the Bowl Championship Series. The 10th annual game will be televised nationally by CBS Sports with kickoff set for 8 p.m. ET.

The game is a result of conference expansion, which saw Arkansas and South Carolina become the first members added in SEC history. Under NCAA regulations, a conference with 12 members may play a 12th football game to determine its champion, provided the regular season is played in divisions.

The participants of the game are determined each year during the eight-game regular season conference schedule as the teams with the best overall winning percentage in each division. Tennessee won the right to represent the Eastern Division with its 7-1 SEC record while LSU went through the SEC season at 5-3 and earned the right to represent the Western Division.

A total of 240.5 million viewers have watched the SEC Football Championship Game in its nine years of existence. Last year's SEC Championship Game garnered a 5.3 rating, representing 21.4 million viewers. The highest rated SEC Championship Game was in 1994 (Florida 24, Alabama 23), when 31.2 million viewers tuned in, drawing a 10.5 rating.

The SEC Championship Game has also drawn capacity crowds in its history. More than 667,000 fans have witnessed first-hand the pageantry of SEC football at the nine previous championship games.

LSU, playing in its first SEC Championship Game, is the seventh different SEC team to play in the SEC title tilt. This year will mark Tennessee's third visit to the SEC Championship Game.

In the current agreement, the SEC Championship Game will be held at the Georgia Dome through the 2006 game.

Hawgs Daily Top Stories