Nutt Named SEC Coach of the Year

For the second time in as many days, Arkansas head coach Houston Nutt has been selected as the 2001 Southeastern Conference Coach of the Year. Nutt was named in a vote by league coaches one day after being honored by the Associated Press.

Nutt led Arkansas to a 7-4 record including a third place finish in the SEC's Western Division. The Razorbacks won six of their last seven games after a 1-3 start.

"The award is a credit to our coaching staff and players," Nutt said. "It is recognition of the outstanding accomplishments of this team. Any time you are recognized by your peers, it is a special honor. The league is filled with great coaches. I'm humbled to be chosen as the coach of the year in the Southeastern Conference."

Nutt is the first Razorback football coach to win SEC Coach of the Year honors and the first UA head coach to win conference coach of the year honors since Ken Hatfield was named Southwest Conference Coach of the Year following the 1989 season.

Nutt captured coach of the year honors for the third time in his career after earning Ohio Valley Conference Coach of the Year recognition in 1995 and 1996 while at Murray State.

Junior tailback Fred Talley earned second team All-SEC honors in the voting by league coaches. Talley led the Razorbacks in rushing with 774 yards on 164 carries this season. The Longview, Texas, native ranks seventh in the SEC and 75th in the nation with an average of 70.4 yards rushing per contest. Talley recorded four 100-yard rushing games this season including a 189-yard effort vs. Central Florida.

Hawgs Daily Top Stories