Greene, HSI Win For First Time Since 2001

AUSTIN, Texas -- After finishing second for three consecutive years, former world 100 meters record holder and 2000 Olympic gold medalist Maurice Greene got his revenge on Saturday in the invitational 4x100-meter relay.

Running for Team HSI, Greene had a healthy lead and took a flawless pass from Kaaron Conwright and enjoyed the ovation as he powered down the homestretch alone in front of J.J. Johnson running for USA Red and Olan Coleman for USA Blue.

Johnson outran HSI and Greene in 2004 and 2002 and far-less decorated Anthuan Maybank did the same in 2003 for another USA team.

HSI won Saturday in 38.48 seconds for the first time since 2001 with the fastest time in the world this young season.

HSI made it a sweep with the 4x200 title featuring the same group of Greene, former Vol Leonard Scott, Conwright and former Gator John Capel, who had his American indoor 200 meters record of 20.26 broken by Arkansas sophomore Wallace Spearmon Jr.'s 20.1 last month.

Greene held the world record in the 100 at 9.79 until 2003 when rival Tim Montgomery, who is now under investigation for doping charges, ran a 9.78 in Paris at the World Championships.

Red's 38.68 and Blue's 38.93 are also in the top three, surpassing the 38.98 run by LSU just moments earlier.

The USA Red team of Angela Daigle, 1996 Olympic gold medalist Inger Miller, 2004 Olympic silver medalist Lauryn Williams and LaTasha Collander won the women's 4x100 in 43.36.

The recent ex-collegian team of Nicole Denby, LoLo Jones, Stephanie Durst and Muna Lee was second in 43.44. Denby, a former Lady Longhorn, owns the Mike A. Myers Stadium record in the 100-meter hurdles at 12.62 and Jones, Durst and Lee were part of three straight NCAA 4x100-meter relay titles at LSU.

Olympic 400-meters gold medalist Jeremy Wariner, who won that event for Baylor at the NCAAs last June, anchored the USA Red team to a win in 3:01.91.

Wariner was joined by fellow 4x400 Olympic gold medalists Andrew Rock and Derrick Brew along with 2003 U.S. 400-meter hurdle champion Bershawn Jackson.


Arkansas commitment Scott MacPherson of Plano, Texas, won the 1,600 meters in 4:10.35, picking up his second Texas Relays title after winning the 3,200 on Friday.

MacPherson again defeated fellow Razorbacks commitment Daniel LaCava of Grace Prep Academy, who was third in the 3,200 Friday and fifth in the 1,600 Saturday in 4:22.92.

"I am happy I ran the two-mile race (Friday), but I can feel my legs laboring on the first lap," MacPherson said. "I just tried to stay relaxed. I don't like to rely on my kick, so I picked it up at the half-mile. I felt it was a little slow because of the wind.

"This meet is a good confidence booster and springboard for the rest of the season."

MacPherson was named the Most Outstanding Male Athlete of the meet.


MacPherson probably could have won the collegiate mile as well as his winning time of 4:10.35 translates well with an extra seven meters added for the mile distance.

Leonel Manzano of Texas was the first Longhorn winner of the Jerry Thompson Mile since 1977 and he did it with the slowest winning time since 1951.

Manzano won in 4:15.28 ahead of Arkansas freshman Shawn Forrest (4:17.41) and senior Jason Sandfort (4:18.27).

Forrest and Sandfort did the run more for a speed workout than as a specialty. Sandfort is already qualified for the NCAA Outdoor Championships in the 10,000 meters and Forrest will hope to do the same in the 5,000.


Meet officials declared Saturday the most well-attended Texas Relays ever. The stands and the concourses at Mike A. Myers Stadium was packed with more than 22,500 fans

Hawgs Daily Top Stories