Pargo Named All-SEC

Arkansas senior guard Jannero Pargo has been named third-team All-Southeastern Conference as voted by the league's coaches.

Pargo, a Chicago, Ill., native, ranks fourth in the conference in scoring (16.9 ppg), first in three-point goals per game (3.36), second in three-point percentage (.443) and ninth in overall field goal percentage (.466).

Pargo has the top three scoring games in the league this season and has five 30-point games this season, including a pair of 35-point efforts against then-No. 4 Florida and at Mississippi State, the highest scoring games for a Razorback since All Dillard had 39 against Delaware State in 1994.

The five 30-point games are the most for a Hog since Joe Kleine had seven in 1985 and Pargo's back-to-back 30-point games against Florida and Alabama (33) are the first consecutive 30-point games for a Razorback since Kleine had 32 against Texas and Texas Tech in 1985.

The All-SEC first team includes Player of the Year Erwin Dudley of Alabama, Udonis Haslem of Florida, Jarvis Hayes of Georgia, Tayshaun Prince of Kentucky and Tennessee's Vincent Yarbrough.

The second team includes Florida's Matt Bonner and Brett Nelson, LSU's Ronald Dupree, Justin Reed of Ole Miss, Mario Austin of Mississippi State and Tennessee's Marcus Haislip.

The third team is made up of Pargo, Rod Grizzard of Alabama, Georgia's Ezra Williams, Jamel Bradley of South Carolina and Matt Freije of Vanderbilt.

The all-freshman team was also released and includes Freshman of the Year Maurice Williams of Alabama, Brandon Robinson of Auburn, Florida's David Lee, Kentucky's Chuck Hayes and Vanderbilt's Brian Thornton. Alabama's Mark Gottfried is the Coach of the Year.

Hawgs Daily Top Stories