Billingsley's Earn UA Distinguished Service Award

George and Boyce Billingsley have been selected as the 2002 recipients of the University of Arkansas Sports Hall of Honor's Distinguished Service Award it was announced by Razorback Foundation President Chuck Dicus on Friday.

The Billingsleys will be honored as part of ceremonies at the 2002 UA Sports Hall of Honor banquet to be held in November at the Northwest Arkansas Convention Center in Springdale, Ark.

"I've known George and Boyce for more than 30 years," Dicus said. "In that time I've known them to be loyal Razorback fans as well as benefactors to the University of Arkansas. There are many, many things they have done through the years for our program that many people don't even know about. Their generosity has helped to generate excitement for the Razorbacks time and time again."

The Billingsleys are UA graduates and long time benefactors of both the Razorback program and the University. They have made sizable contributions to the Sam M. Walton College of Business, the College of Education and Health Professions, the College of Engineering, the department of history in the Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, the University Libraries, the Chancellor's Scholarship programs as well as the Razorback Foundation. In addition, they have designated funds for the endowment fund of the Arkansas Children's Hospital in Little Rock, Ark., the restoration and renovation of Old Main and the establishment of a program for international music preservation in the Fulbright College.

The Billingsleys are members of the Chancellor's Society and the Campaign for the Twenty-First Century Steering Committee. Mr. Billingsley serves as a Campaign vice-chair as well as a member of the UA's Executive Committee.

"George and Boyce have been difference makers since the first time I came to Arkansas," UA Athletic Director Frank Broyles said. "They have been personal friends for more than 40 years and have played a significant role in the Razorback program. They have always made themselves available to help in any and every way. We are proud to honor George and Boyce for their generosity and their long-standing friendship with the Razorbacks."

Previous recipients of the distinguished service award include E.J. Ball, Bob and Marilyn Bogle, Willard and Pat Walker, H.L. and Janelle Hembree and Barbara Broyles.

The Billingsleys as well as the UA Sports Hall of Honor class of 2002 will be honored on November 15 at the Hall of Honor banquet. Tickets may be purchased for the event by contacting the Razorback Foundation at 479-443-9000.

Hawgs Daily Top Stories