McFadden, Nutt Earn More SEC Honors

FAYETTEVILLE -- Arkansas running back Darren McFadden is enjoying a pretty good week, and it could get even better by the time it ends.

To no surprise, McFadden was named Wednesday as the Southeastern Conference's offensive player of the year by the league's coaches. The Little Rock native, who received the same honor from the Associated Press on Monday, was the unanimous choice by the coaches.

McFadden could add a few more honors over the next several days. The sophomore, who led the SEC in rushing with 1,558 yards and 14 touchdowns, was named Wednesday night as one of three Heisman Trophy finalists.

McFadden is also among three finalists for the Doak Walker Award, which will be presented tonight in a ceremony in Orlando to the nation's best running back.

Meanwhile, Arkansas coach Houston Nutt was voted by his peers as the SEC coach of the year after helping the No. 12 Razorbacks (10-3, 7-2) go from being unranked to winning the SEC West.

Arkansas surpassed preseason expectations by winning 10 straight games to earn the chance to play in the SEC Championship Game, as well as make its first bowl appearance in three years.

McFadden was named the SEC freshman and newcomer of the year in 2005 after he rushed for 1,113 yards and 11 touchdowns as a true freshman despite playing with torn cartilage in his left knee.

Ole Miss linebacker Patrick Willis was named the SEC's defensive player of the year, and Auburn kicker John Vaughn earned special teams player of the year honors. Neither of them were unanimous choices like McFadden.

Florida wide receiver Percy Harvin, who was named the most valuable player of the SEC Championship Game after leading the No. 2 Gators to a 38-28 win over the Razorbacks, is the league's freshman of the year.

Hawgs Daily Top Stories