McFadden Can Add AP All-American To His Honor

FAYETTEVILLE -- The postseason honors keep coming in for Arkansas running back Darren McFadden, and the No. 12 Razorbacks still have one game left.

McFadden was named Tuesday as a member of the Associated Press' All-America first-team after the sophomore led the Southeastern Conference in rushing with 1,558 yards and 14 touchdowns.

Though hampered by a serious toe injury at the start of the season, McFadden became the 20th player in Arkansas history to be selected to AP's All-America first-team. The last Razorback to earn the honor was offensive lineman Shawn Andrews in 2003.

"(McFadden's) the best I've ever had," Arkansas running backs coach Danny Nutt said last week. "...And I've been around some good backs."

Tuesday's selection was just the latest honor for McFadden. Over the past two weeks, he has been named the SEC's offensive player of the year by both the AP and the league's coaches, won the Doak Walker Award as the nation's top running back and become Arkansas' first Heisman Trophy finalist.

McFadden finished a surprising second in the Heisman voting behind Ohio State quarterback Troy Smith, who also made the AP's All-America first-team.

"This has to be one of the busiest weeks of my life. It seems like I've been going here and there, getting this award and getting that award," McFadden said Sunday, the day after the Heisman ceremony in New York. "Right now, (I'm) just very thankful."

The sophomore is among five SEC players to be selected to AP's All-America first-team, joining Ole Miss linebacker Patrick Willis, Florida safety Reggie Nelson and LSU's tandem of defensive tackle Glenn Dorsey and safety LaRon Landry.

McFadden will cap his banner season when Arkansas (10-3) faces No. 6 Wisconsin (11-1) in the Capital One Bowl at noon Monday, Jan. 1 in Orlando's Citrus Bowl.

Arkansas center Jonathan Luigs and tackle Tony Ugoh were also named to the third team.

Hawgs Daily Top Stories