McDonald's Select 7-on-7

Little Rock Christian's Michael Dyer, Pulaski Academy's Neal Barlow and Harrison's Austin Tate will be among the top names in the 32-team McDonald's Select 7-on-7 passing tournament, which will be held on the University of Arkansas campus on July 11-12.

Just look at it as the Real Deal on Hill for football.

At least that's what the organizers of the McDonald's Select 7-on-7 Tournament on July 12-13 at the University of Arkansas are hoping they can do for prep gridiron prospects just as Real Deal does for high school basketball ones.

Basically the 32-team event – which will be sponsored by VYPE High School Sports Magazine and McDonald's – is being held to get the kids some great competition and allow those prospective student-athletes to look over the University of Arkansas campus.

Teams from Arkansas, Oklahoma, Missouri and Texas will be involved.

"We are creating a one-of-a-kind tournament for high school players and them giving them a chance to play at a major university," notes Rhett Lashlee, Market Director for VYPE. "It's going to be exciting to see all these great teams and talented young players competing at the highest level on a very big stage."

The 7-on-7 tournament will feature 26 Arkansas teams, a pair of Missouri ones, two Oklahoma ones and one each from Kansas and Texas.

"This is an exciting event for us," said Kevin Hern, Chairman and CEO of VYPE. The unique format of 7-on-7 games has brought us a high level of competition to the tournament and it should be fun and interesting for everybody involved."

Some of the more celebrated in-state participants will be Little Rock Christian junior tailback Michael Dyer, UA tight end commit Austin Tate of Harrison, wideouts Neal Barlow of Pulaski Academy, Quinn Franklin of Warren and Clarence Harris of Lonoke, Fort Smith Northside running back Semaj Edwards and quarterback Spencer Keith of Pulaski Academy.

The 7-on-7 tournaments feature games on 40-yard field with teams given 3 downs to cover 15 yards and get another first down.

The quarterbacks have just four seconds to throw or a sack is called and some 200 games will be played on the two days.

Here's a list of the teams that will be competing:

1. Bentonville

2. Fayetteville

3. FS Northside

4. Gentry

5. Gravette

6. Rogers Heritage

7. Rogers

8. Shiloh Christian

9. Siloam Springs

10. Springdale Har-Ber

11. Springdale

12. Harrison

13. Bryant

14. CAC

15. Des Arc

16. Hot Springs Lakeside

17. Lake Hamilton

18. Nashville

19. Pulaski Academy

20. Warren

21. Lonoke

22. Little Rock Christian

23. Arkansas Baptist

24. Nettleton

25. Jonesboro

26. Blue Valley, Kan.

27. Owasso, Okla.

28. Sallisaw, Okla. 29. Marshfield, Mo. #1

30. Marshfield, Mo. #2

31. Sherman, Texas

32. TBA

Hawgs Daily Top Stories