Arnold Tucker to be Enshrined on Saturday

Former Army quarterback Arnold Tucker will be enshrined into the College Football Hall of Fame on July 18, 2009 in South Bend, Ind. Tucker joins a long list of 28 former Cadets enshrined into that Hall of Fame.

Tucker's National Football Foundation Biography:

"Few quarterbacks in college football history can match the unprecedented success of the 1946 Sullivan Award winner, Army's Arnold Tucker, a selection from the NFF Honors Review Committee*. A member of three National Championship teams (1944-46), Tucker was undefeated at Army, leading his fellow cadets to an unparalleled 27-0-1 record during his prolific career. He was one-fourth of the 1946 Army backfield, coached by West Point legend Earl "Red" Blaik and considered by many as the greatest of all time – Tucker, Tom McWilliams and Heisman Trophy winners Doc Blanchard and Glenn Davis. The 1946 All-American led Army to three Lambert Trophies, passing for 1,127 yards and 10 touchdowns in his three-year campaign and trouncing perennial powerhouses Michigan, Oklahoma and Notre Dame. He played for the University of Miami in 1943. After graduation from the USMA and flying training, Tucker returned to West Point as an assistant backfield coach. He later served in numerous capacities for both the Army and Air Force, including Deputy Chief of Operations for the 5th AF in Japan from 1968-1970 and Commanding Officer of the 16th Special Operations Squadron in Thailand in 1970. From 1971-74, Tucker acted as Commanding Officer of the Army ROTC program at the University of Miami. He retired as a Lieutenant Colonel and presently lives in the Miami area."

Members of the 2009 Class of the College Football Hall of Fame

Players Troy Aikman (UCLA); Roger Brown (Maryland-Eastern Shore); Billy Cannon (Louisiana State); Fred Dean (Louisiana Tech); Jim Dombrowski (Virginia); Pat Fitzgerald (Northwestern); Wilber Marshall (Florida); Rueben Mayes (Washington State); Randall McDaniel (Arizona State); Don McPherson (Syracuse); Sam Mills* (Montclair State, N.J.); Jay Novacek (Wyoming); Dave Parks (Texas Tech); Ron Simmons (Florida State); Rod Smith (Missouri Southern State); Thurman Thomas (Oklahoma State); Arnold Tucker (Army); and Coaches Volney Ashford* (Missouri Valley); John Cooper (Tulsa, Arizona State, Ohio State); Jim Donnan (Marshall, Georgia); and Lou Holtz (William & Mary, North Carolina State, Arkansas, Minnesota, Notre Dame, South Carolina). [*Deceased & represented by family.]

Previous Army Hall of Fame inductees

Charles Daly '05, player and coach, 1951
Christian "Red" Cagle, running back, 1954
Edgar Garbisch '25, center, 1954
Lawrence McC. Jones '17, coach, 1954
Elmer Oliphant, June '18, back, 1955
Felix "Doc" Blanchard '47, back, 1959
Glenn Davis '47, back, 1961
John McEwan, April '17, center, 1962
Earl "Red" Blaik '20, coach, 1964
Paul Bunker '03, tackle/back, 1969
Mortimer "Bud" Sprague '29, tackle, 1970
"Lighthorse" Harry Wilson '28, back, 1973
Alexander Weyand '16, lineman, 1974
Barney Poole, end, 1974
Pete Dawkins '59, back, 1975
Harvey Jablonsky '34, guard, 1978
Bill Carpenter '60, end, 1982
Barney Poole, end, 1974
Arnold Galiffa '50, back, 1983
Doug Kenna '45, back, 1984
Robin Olds, June '43, tackle, 1985
Don Holleder '56, end/quarterback, 1985
Joe Steffy '49, guard, 1987
John Green '46, guard, 1989
Frank Merritt '44, tackle, 1996
Jim Young, coach, 1999
Bob Anderson, '59, halfback, 2004
Arnold Tucker, '46, quarterback, 2008 Top Stories