A-10 Puts Eight Teams In Postseason

The Atlantic 10 had eight men's basketball teams make the postseason. Four teams made the NCAA Tournament, two made the NIT, and two are headed to the CBI.

NEWPORT NEWS, Va.—Eight Atlantic 10 teams earned postseason bids Sunday, with four teams in the NCAA Tournament and four more locking up a spot in the National Invitational Tournament (NIT).

St. Bonaventure, Saint Louis, Temple and Xavier all earned a berth to the NCAA Tournament and Dayton, La Salle, Massachusetts and Saint Joseph's will play in the NIT.

Eight teams in the two primary postseason tournaments is a record for the A-10. It also equals the most postseason bids in league history, tying the 2007-08 season (three NCAA, four NIT, two CBI) and 2009-10 (three NCAA, two NIT, three CBI). It also marks the first time since 2004 that the A-10 has put four teams in the NCAA Tournament and the sixth time the league has put four or more teams in the field.

St. Bonaventure, the 2012 Atlantic 10 Tournament champion, which won the Atlantic 10 title Sunday at Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City, N.J., earned a 14 seed and will face third-seeded Florida State (24-9) in Nashville on Friday. It's the first trip to the NCAAs for the Bonnies (20-11) since 2000 and its sixth trip overall. The winner of that game will play the winner of No. 6 Cincinnati and No. 11 Tennessee.

Temple (24-7) drew a five-seed and the winner of the opening round game between No. 12 seeds California and USF. TU's game will be Friday in Nashville with the winner advancing to face the winner between No. 4 Michigan and No. 13 Ohio. It's the fifth straight trip to the NCAAs for the Owls, who claimed the A-10's automatic bid in 2008, 2009 and 2010.

Saint Louis (25-7), which was the regular season runner-up in the A-10, is a nine seed and will face eighth-seeded Memphis (26-8) in the second round in Columbus, Ohio on Friday. It's the first trip to the NCAAs since 2000. The winner will face the winner of No. 1 Michigan State and No. 16 LIU Brooklyn.

Atlantic 10 Tournament runner-up Xavier (21-12) is a 10 seed and will play seventh-seeded Notre Dame (22-11) in Greensboro on Friday. The winner will get the winner between No. 2 Duke and No. 15 Lehigh. It marks the seventh straight NCAA Tournament appearance for the Musketeers.

Dayton and Massachusetts will both be on the road for the NIT First Round. The second-ranked Flyers (20-12), who will play on the road due to UD Arena hosting NCAA Opening Round games, will travel to No. 7 Iowa to face the Hawkeyes (17-16) at 7:30 pm on Tuesday. That game will air on ESPN and the winner will play the Oregon-LSU winner.

Fifth-seeded Massachusetts (22-11) will travel to No. 4 Mississippi State (21-11) on Tuesday for a 7:00 pm tip-off. If the Minutemen win, they will face the Seton Hall-Stony Brook winner.

No. 3 La Salle (21-12) will host No. 6 Minnesota (19-14) on Wednesday at 7:00 pm on ESPN2. The winner of the La Salle game faces the Miami (Fla.)-Valparaiso winner.

Second-seeded Saint Joseph's (20-13) hosts No. 7 Northern Iowa (19-13) at Hagan Arena on Wednesday. The winner of the game, which will be carried by ESPN3, plays the Drexel-UCF winner.

A10 Report Top Stories