Football Foundation To Honor Beasley, Others

Auburn, Ala.--Former Auburn University All-American Terry Beasley will be honored on Wednesday by the Auburn chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame.

Beasley was inducted to the Hall of Fame at ceremonies in New York City last December. A reception honoring Beasley will begin at 6 p.m. at the Auburn University Hotel and Dixon Conference Center. A banquet will follow at 7 p.m.

Jason Campbell

Four current Auburn University football players will receive scholar-athlete awards--quarterback Jason Campbell, offensive lineman Danny Lindsey, senior defensive end Reggie Torbor and kicker Philip Yost. Scholar athletes from area high schools will also be honored.

Danny Lindsey

Phil Snow, host of the Auburn Football Review television show, will be the featured speaker.

Tickets to the banquet are $50 and may be ordered by contacting The Auburn Network at (334) 826-2929. Admission to the reception honoring Terry Beasley is free and open to the public.

Reggie Torbor

Beasley featured a combination of exceptional speed, tremendous hands, natural strength and balance combined with a burning desire to be a star. Few players in the history of Auburn University football captured the imagination of Tiger partisans like Beasley, a star for exciting Auburn football teams in 1969, 1970 and 1971. Joining with quarterback Pat Sullivan, the 1971 Heisman Trophy winner, they were known as the Dynamic Duo on the football field.

Beasley's NFL career with the '49ers was cut short by serious injury problems, but he is still considered the one of the greatest wide receivers in SEC history more than three decades after he played for the Tigers.

Beasley has endowed an academic scholarship to Auburn. The Terry Beasley Number 88 Scholarship provides funds to underprivileged but gifted students who want to study at the university.

Philip Yost

The Auburn chapter of the National Football Foundation nominated Beasley for his honor he received at ceremonies at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City. The group has nominated former Pat Dye for induction also.

Dye, who coached the Tigers from 1981 through 1992, was considered for the Hall of Fame's 2002 class, but came up short in the balloting. "I am really sorry that Coach Dye didn't get in," Beasley says. "Coach Dye is very deserving. Hopefully, he will get in this year."

Terry Beasley was a two-time All-American for the Tigers and is considered Auburn's greatest receiver.

The Auburn chapter of the National Football Foundation sponsors several events annually and invites all Auburn fans interested in football to join the organization. Persons interested in doing that can pick up membership forms at Wednesday night's banquet.

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories