AU Trio Honored For Outstanding 2010 Season

Auburn offensive coordinator Gus Malzahn was named a finalist for the Broyles Award while Cam Newton and Lee Ziemba were both honored as well on Monday.

Auburn, Ala.--Monday was a again a big day on the awards circuit for the Auburn Tigers as offensive coordinator Gus Malzahn, quarterback Cameron Newton, and offensive tackle Lee Ziemba were honored for their work this season in helping the Tigers to a perfect 12-0 regular season.

Given to the nation's most outstanding assistant football coach, the Broyles Award is named for former Arkansas coach Frank Broyles and will be given out on Dec. 6 at the Peabody Hotel in Little Rock, Ark. It would be a fitting award for Malzahn to win given his connection to the State of Arkansas and the job he's done this season in directing Auburn's offense.

The Tigers have already set single-season records for scoring (499 points), total offense (5,881 yards) and rushing (3,495), rushing touchdowns (38), passing touchdowns (25), and first downs (288) at Auburn and are currently sixth nationally in rushing, seventh in scoring and eighth in total offense.

Joining Malzahn as finalists for the award are TCU defensive coordinator Dick Bumpas, Wisconsin offensive coordinator Paul Chryst, Oklahoma State offensive coordinator Dana Holgorsen and Stanford offensive coordinator Greg Roman.

Cam Newton

One of the biggest reasons for Malzahn's position is the play of Newton in 2010. Announced as a finalist for the Manning Award by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, Newton is among very good company joined by TCU's Andy Dalton, Nevada's Colin Kaepernick, Stanford's Andrew Luck, Arkansas' Ryan Mallett, Boise State's Kellen Moore, Ohio State's Terrelle Pryor, Michigan's Denard Robinson, Oregon's Darron Thomas and Oklahoma State's Brandon Weeden.

Newton has accounted for 43 touchdowns this season, which ranks second in the nation and tied for second in SEC history, setting Auburn single-season records for passing touchdowns (24) and rushing touchdowns (18) while also catching a TD pass. He has accounted for at least four touchdowns in seven different games this season while setting the Auburn single-season scoring record with 114 points.

Newton ranks 11th nationally in rushing (111.3) and has set an SEC record for yards rushing by a quarterback with 1,336. He also owns the nation's second-best passing efficiency mark of 185.57. Newton, who is also a finalist for the Maxwell and Davey O'Brien Awards, is the first player in SEC history to total 2,000 passing yards and 1,000 rushing yards in a single season. He needs just 164 rushing yards and 246 passing yards in the final two games to become a 2,500-1,500 performer.

The winner of the Manning Award will be announced on Jan. 19 and will be honored at a ceremony in New Orleans.

Lee Ziemba

Newton along with offensive tackle Lee Ziemba were also named to the American Football Coaches' Association All-American Team. Auburn joined Oklahoma State, Stanford and Wisconsin as the only schools to place two players on the team. It is the first time Auburn has had multiple all-americans since 2004.

A starter in every game since arriving at Auburn, a streak of 50 consecutive, Ziemba is a key component of an offensive line that has helped the Tigers put together the best offense in school history. This season the Tigers had six-straight games in SEC play of over 300 yards rushing, a school record.

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories