Pugh Named Rimington Trophy Finalist

Auburn senior center Ryan Pugh was named a finalist for the Rimington Trophy on Tuesday and along with three teammates was named All-SEC.

Auburn, Ala.--Auburn senior Ryan Pugh has been named one of six finalists for the 2010 Rimington Trophy, it was announced Monday. The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the most outstanding center in college football.

Joining Pugh as finalists for the award are Colin Baxter of Arizona, Chase Beeler of Stanford, Mike Brewster of Ohio State, Jake Kirkpatrick of TCU and David Molk of Michigan.

Pugh, who has started 40 consecutive games, has been a key part of Auburn's record-setting offense that leads the SEC in scoring offense (42.7), total offense (497.7), rushing offense (287.2) and first downs (24.3). The Tigers rushed for more than 300 yards against six consecutive SEC opponents for the first time in school history, and have scored at least 50 points a school-record six times this season.

The winner of the Rimington Trophy will be announced during the ESPNU/Home Depot College Football Awards show, broadcast live from Orlando, Fla., on ESPN this Thursday and be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Neb., on Saturday, Jan. 15, 2011.

The winner is selected by determining the consensus All-American center pick from four existing All-America teams. The committee uses the following All-American teams: American Football Coaches Association; Walter Camp Foundation; Sporting News; Football Writers Association of America.

The center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the center with the most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by a majority vote from the Rimington Trophy committee.

In addition to being named a finalist for the most prestigious award for a center in the country, Pugh was also named a First-Team All-SEC performer by the league's coaches. Joining him on the first team were quarterback Cameron Newton, offensive tackle Lee Ziemba and defensive tackle Nick Fairley.

Pugh and the Tigers will take on Oregon in the BCS Championship Game Jan. 10 in Glendale, Ariz.

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories