Tigers Racking Up Honors, More On the Way?

The honors continue to come in for members of the 2010 Auburn football team.

Birmingham, Ala.--Two Auburn players have been named to the 2010 Southeastern Conference All-Freshman Football Team announced on Thursday.

Michael Dyer and Corey Lemonier are Auburn's representatives on the all-star team selected by the league's coaches.

Dyer, a tailback from Little Rock, Ark., is averaging 73.1 yards per game, which is second on the Auburn team to Cameron Newton and ninth in the SEC. He is averaging 5.9 yards per carry. Three times this season Dyer has rushed for 100 or more yards.

Dyer's 180 rushing yards vs. Ole Miss are the most for an Auburn freshman vs. an SEC team and the third most in a single game.

Corey Lemonier

Lemonier has started one game at defensive end and played in 12 others as a reserve. The defensive end from Hialeah, Fla., has nine solo tackles and five assists. He has two sacks, six quarterback pressures and four tackles for lost yardage.

Lemonier and Dyer will play in the BCS Championship Game on Jan. 10th to close their season.

More awards could be coming for Auburn players on Thursday. Newton is in Orlando, Fla., for a college awards show where the winners of the Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Player of the Year Award will be announced. He is also a candidate for the Davey O'Brien Award as the nation's top quarterback.

Nick Fairley, who won the Lombardi Award as the nation's top lineman on Wednesday, will be in Orlando on Thursday night, too. He is under consideration for the Bednarik Award, which is presented to the nation's top defensive player.

Auburn head coach Gene Chizik will also be in Orlando where he will be presented a national coach of the year award sponsored by Home Depot.

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories