Newton Honored As College Football's Top QB

Cameron Newton has received another award for his performance as quarterback of the Auburn football team.

New Orleans, La.--Cameron Newton received his second award honoring the Auburn All-American as the top college quarterback for the 2010 football season when he was presented with the Manning Award on Wednesday.

Newton, the Heisman Trophy winner, helped the Tigers post a 14-0 season that was capped by a 22-19 victory over Oregon in the national championship game.

In his first season as an Auburn football player the juco transfer set an AU record for rushing yards in a season by a quarterback when the gained 1,473. He also set the AU record for rushing touchdowns in a season with 20.

Additionally, he broke the school record for touchdown passes in a season with 30. He threw for 2,854 yards and caught at touchdown pass to set a school record for touchdown responsibility (51) to go with an all-time single season best in Auburn history for total offense. Newton had a 182.0 rating to finish second nationally in passing efficiency after transfering to AU from Blinn (junior) College in Texas.

Newton led Blinn to the junior college national title in 2009 before transferring to Auburn for his junior season where he helped the Tigers win and national titles.]

Andrew Luck (Stanford), Kellen Moore (Boise State), Terrelle Pryor (Ohio State), Denard Robinson (Michigan), Darron Thomas (Oregon), Brandon Weeden (Oklahoma State), Andy Dalton (TCU), Colin Kaepernick (Nevada) and Ryan Mallett (Arkansas) were the other finalists for the Manning Award, which is in its seventh year.

"I'm not sure if we've ever seen a player put up numbers like Cam Newton did this year," said former NFL star Archie Manning, who the award that is named for him along with his sons, Peyton and Eli, who are current NFL?quarterbacks.

"It's amazing for a guy to account for over 50 touchdowns in a career, let alone one season, and to also lead his team to the SEC Championship and the BCS Championship, it's no surprise that our voting panel selected Cam as this year's winner," Manning said.

Newton was also named the SEC Offensive Player of the Year and was named the national player of the year by AP. He won the Maxwell Award and the Walter Camp Foundation National Player of the Year Award.

Newton is one of 56 non-senior football players across the country who have entered the 2011 NFL Draft. NFL Draft analyst Mel Kiper, Jr. projects Newton will be selected as the 10th pick of the first round.

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories