Seven Tigers On Preseason All-SEC Teams

The SEC football coaches announced their preseason all-conference teams.

Auburn, Ala.--Seven returnees from the 2010 national champion Auburn Tigers have been selected to the SEC Football Coaches 2011 Preseason All-SEC team.

The Tigers had six players picked on the 2010 team when the league's coaches made first and second team selections. This year the coaches have added third teams for both offense and defense.

Five of the 2011 Auburn players honored are on offense. The group includes 2010 Freshman All-SEC running back Michael Dyer, who broke Bo Jackson's Auburn freshman rushing record last year with 1,093 yards on 182 carries.

Brandon Mosley, the only returning starter on the offensive line, is also a second team selection. He took over as a starter at right tackle after A.J. Greene was injured in the Clemson game and lost for the season last year.

Three Tigers were selected to the third team on offense. Tight end Philip Lutzenkirchen caught 15 passes for 185 yards and five touchdowns. The junior is expected to see those numbers increase this fall as he takes on added duties as a part-time wide receiver in addition to playing H-back and tight end.

Another junior, Onterio McCalebb, joins Lutzenkirchen as a third team all-league pick. McCalebb set a single-season Auburn record last year with his average of 8.5 yards per rush. He carried the football 85 times for 910 yards and scored seven rushing touchdowns last season.

Philip Lutzenkirchen celebrates at touchdown with teammate Mike Berry last season.

Joining McCalebb and Lutzenkirchen on the third team offense is junior wide receiver Emory Blake. He caught 33 yards for 554 yards last year with a team-leading eight touchdown receptions, including a TD in Auburn's BCS National Championship Game victory over Oregon.

Last year the Tigers had two preseason All-SEC first team selections in offensive tackle Lee Ziemba and Josh Bynes, who were both seniors. Ziemba, who set an Auburn record for the most games started, earned postseason All-American honors. No Tigers were selected by the coaches as first team picks in 2011.

The two 2011 selections on defense are senior Neiko Thorpe, who started the past two seasons at cornerback. He is moving to free safety this year. Thorpe was a second team preseason pick by the coaches last year, who put him on the third team this season along with end Corey Lemonier.

Lemonier was a Coaches Freshman All-SEC pick last year as he played in all 14 games with one start. He made 12 solo tackles with five assists and two quarterback sacks.

In addition to Ziemba, Bynes and Thorpe, other players selected to the 2010 All-SEC team last July were center Ryan Pugh, linebacker Craig Stevens and wide receiver Darvin Adams.

Arkansas has the most players picked to the all-star teams with 14. Tennessee, with two selections, has the fewest.

Order Your 2011 Auburn Tigers Football Guide.

Premium Subscription Signup

Subscribe to Magazine

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories