Auburn Senior Named Team's Most Valuable

Kenny Gabriel has won three team awards, including the Most Valuable Player Trophy for the Auburn basketball Tigers.

Auburn, Ala.--Senior forward Kenny Gabriel was named the team's Most Valuable Player on Sunday night at the Auburn men's basketball team's annual awards dinner. Gabriel was also named the team's top defensive player and rebounder.

Gabriel is the team's top rebounder with 7.6 per game and the top shot blocker with 2.3 per contest. He is the second leading scorer with his average of 12.2 points per game.

Junior guard Frankie Sullivan won the Paul Lambert/Tommy Joe Eagles Memorial Trophy for Leadership. He leads the team in scoring at 12.6 points per outing.

Josh Wallace

Junior guard Josh Wallace won the Playmaker Award and the Scholar-Athlete Award, Allen Payne won the Sportsmanship Award, Adrian Forbes was named Most Improved while three players shared the Unsung Player Award--Tony Neysmith, Noel Johnson and Josh Langford.

Walk-ons Dylan Spencer and T.J. Rice shared the award as Most Outstanding Teammate.

The Sixth Man Award was presented to the AU student body, which was represented by 10 members of The Jungle support group.

Premium Subscription Signup

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories