Heisman Winners Returning for Unveiling Event

Auburn's Heisman Trophy winners will be on campus for the A-Day Game.

Auburn, Ala.--Auburn football fans will have an extra incentive to attend this year's spring football game.

Four hours before kickoff for the annual A-Day contest, statues honoring Auburn's Heisman Trophy winners will be unveiled at a ceremony on the east side of Jordan-Hare Stadium starting at 10 a.m.

Pat Sullivan

Quarterback Pat Sullivan was the 1971 Heisman Trophy winner. Running back Bo Jackson won the trophy in 1985. Quarterback Cam Newton was the winner in 2010 leading the Tigers to the BCS title and an unbeaten season. All three men are scheduled to take part in the ceremony.

Cam Newton

Newton set league rookie record for passing yards this past season playing with the Carolina Panthers after being selected as the No. pick in the 2011 NFL Draft. He led Auburn to an unbeaten season capped by an exciting victory over Oregon in the national title game with his ability to attack defenses with both his arm and feet.

Jackson, who was a star in both the NFL and Major League Baseball, is a businessman living in the Chicago area. In football he was known for his ability to outrun defenders as well as overpower them. In baseball he had exceptional power and one of the strongest arms in the history of the sport.

Bo Jackson

Sullivan, who played for the NFL's Atlanta Falcons, is head football coach at Samford University in Birmingham, his hometown. Previously he had served as an assistant coach at Auburn. Sullivan, known for his pinpoint passing, quick feet and ability to perform in the clutch, held almost every Auburn passing record by the time he graduated from AU. A three-sport in high school, he focused on football in college.

Tickets to the A-Day game are $5 and the contest is scheduled to start at 2 p.m. CDT.

Premium Subscription Signup

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories