Coaches Select 8 Tide Stars All-SEC

Alabama placed a league best eight men on the 2013 All-Southeastern Conference Coaches Football Team. The conference office announced the team Tuesday, pointing out that coaches were not permitted to vote for players on their teams, but neglecting to say if teams without a coach were also without a voter.

The All-SEC Team as selected by the league coaches came at a time when three teams (Tennessee, Arkansas, and Auburn) did not have coaches and Kentucky's coach had been on the job for only a couple of days.

SEC Champion Alabama placed six men on the All-SEC first team.

Just as Bama's offensive line dominated most opponents during the season, the Crimson Tide dominated the All-SEC offensive line with center Barrett Jones, guard Chance Warmack, and tackle D.J. Fluker all selected to the first team.

Also on offense, Eddie Lacy, the MVP of the SEC Championship Game, was first team tailback.

Linebacker C.J. Mosley and cornerback Dee Milliner were first team defensive selections.

Quarterback A.J. McCarron and safety Robert Lester were Alabama players on the second team.

Florida had seven men selected, while Tennessee and Eastern Division champion Georgia had six each. Ten of the 14 SEC schools had a member on the first team. Florida had five first team selections, Texas A&M four.

LSU, South Carolina, and Texas A&M each had five total members. Mississippi State had four.

Quarterback Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M and tailback Todd Gurley of Georgia were the only freshmen to make the honor squad with Manziel the only freshman on the first team.

The SEC will announce individual award winners Wednesday and the Freshman All-SEC Team will be announced Thursday.

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories