Dismukes A Finalist For Rimington Award

Auburn's junior center, Reese Dismukes, said he is proud to be a part of the 2013 SEC Championship team.

Auburn, Ala.--Reese Dismukes, the leader of Auburn's offensive line that has become the most dominating group in the SEC this season, has been named one of six finalists for the Rimington Award, which is presented annually to the top center in college football.

The 6-3, 297 junior from Spanish Fort is a three-year starter for the Tigers who played a key role in Saturday's 59-42 SEC Championship Game victory over Missouri, which set the stage for the Tigers to advance to the BCS National Championship Game to play Florida State.

The Tigers set an SEC Championship Game rushing record with 545 yards. It is also the most rushing yards ever by an Auburn team vs. SEC competition. The Tigers also set the league championship game record for total offense with 677 yards vs. Mizzou.

"That is awesome," Dismukes said of his team's offensive production. "We really stuck to our plan and did what we do best and that is run the football. I am so proud of the whole team. We couldn't get this done without our coaches and the determination of the whole team.

"Once again credit again to the coaches," the junior said. "They have all of that funky stuff going on behind us that creates real problems for defenses."

Reese Dismukes has helped the Tigers rush for 335.7 yards per game, which leads the nation.

With the Tigers improving their record to 12-1, this team has produced the biggest season-to-season turnaround in SEC history. If Auburn defeats Florida State in Pasadena on Jan. 6th the Tigers will complete the biggest turnaround in major college history.

"It's funny that when you are winning football games everything goes by so much faster," Dismukes said. "Last year it seemed like 12 years off my life. This year has been so much fun and one heck of a journey. I am just so proud of the whole team--everybody."

The other finalists are Hroniss Grasu of Oregon, Gabe Ikard of Oklahoma, Tyler Larsen of Utah State, Bryan Stork of Florida State and Travis Swanson of Arkansas.

The winner will be announced on Thursday in Lake Buena Vista, Fla, on ESPN's college football awards show.

Premium Subscription Signup

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories