Malzahn Named AP Coach Of The Year

Gus Malzahn has been named the Associated Press Coach of the Year after Auburn's 12-win regular season and SEC Championship.

Auburn Coach Gus Malzahn continues to load up on the hardware following the Tigers' 12-1 SEC Championship season.

On Monday he was named the Associated Press College Football Coach of the Year, the third national coach of the year award for him. He also won the Eddie Robinson Award given by the Football Writers Association of America and the Home Depot coach of the year honors.

Malzahn was at the center of one of the biggest turnarounds in college football history this season at Auburn. Taking over a team that won just three games a year ago, Malzahn guided the Tigers to 11 wins in the regular season including a win over top-ranked Alabama in the Iron Bowl.

Finishing the year with a victory over Missouri in the SEC Championship Game, Auburn will face Florida State in the BCS National Championship Game on Jan. 6 in Pasadena, Cal.

Malzahn edged Duke's David Cutcliffe for the award, receiving 33 votes from AP Top 25 college football poll voters. Leading Duke to its first-ever 10-win season, Cutcliffe received 17 votes while Florida State's Jimbo Fisher and Michigan State's Mark Dantonio each received three votes.

Malzahn becomes the second Auburn coach to win the award, joining Tommy Tuberville in 2004.

Premium Subscription Signup

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories