Gus Malzahn Wins Bryant Award

Auburn's head football coach has picked up another coach of the year honor.

Houston, Tex.--Auburn is going to need to clear out more space in the trophy cabinets as Gus Malzahn picked up his fifth national coach of the year award on Wednesday when he received the Bear Bryant Award.

Malzahn joins Gene Chizik (2010), Tommy Tuberville (2004) and Terry Bowden (1993) as Auburn winners of the honor.

Other finalists in attendance at the Royal Sonesta for the 2013 Bryant Coach of the Year were David Bailiff of Rice, Art Briles of Baylor, Mark Dantonio of Michigan State and David Shaw of Stanford.

Malzahn talks to his team at practice in California prior to the BCS Championship Game.

Previously the first-year Auburn head coach won the Eddie Robinson, Liberty Mutual, Home Depot and Sporting News coach of the year awards. As an offensive coordinator during the 2010 season, Malzahn won the Broyles Award as the nation's top assistant coach.

Malzahn's Tigers finished the season with a 12-2 record that included a 59-42 victory over Missouri in the SEC Championship Game. The Tigers had the biggest season-to-season turnaround in Auburn history.

The Bryant Award is selected by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association to honor excellence in coaching, both on and off the field, while raising money for the American Heart Association.

Former Texas A&M coach R.C. Slocum was also honored at the even as he received the 2014 Life Achievement Award.

Premium Subscription Signup

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories