Auburn's Malzahn Wins Bowden Award

Auburn's Gus Malzahn has received another national football coach of the year award.

Birmingham, Ala.--Auburn's Gus Malzahn received another honor on Friday when he was named the winner of the 2013 Bobby Bowden Award, which is presented annually to the coach of the year in college football.

The Bowden award is the sixth national coach of the year honor for Malzahn, who led the Tigers to the SEC Championship and a 12-2 record in his first season as Auburn's head coach.

Malzahn also won the Eddie Robinson, Liberty Mutual, Home Depot, Bear Bryant and Sporting News coach of the year awards. As an offensive coordinator during the 2010 season, Malzahn won the Broyles Award as the nation's top assistant coach.

Other finalists for the 2013 Bowden Award were David Cutcliffe of Duke University, Art Briles of Baylor University, Mark Dantonio of Michigan State University and Jimbo Fisher of Florida State University.

The Bowden Award is selected by members of the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association along with the Over the Mountain Touchdown Club of Birmingham.

Presentation of the award is scheduled for March 2, 2014 at the Grand Cahaba Conference Center in Birmingham. Former Auburn football player Vince Dooley, who coached at AU and Georgia, will receive a lifetime achievement award when Malzahn is honored.

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories