Photo by Jason Caldwell

Auburn Junior Kasey Cooper Named SEC Softball Player Of The Year

Auburn's Kasey Cooper was named the SEC Player of the Year on Tuesday while teammate Jade Rhodes earned second-team All-SEC honors.

Birmingham, Ala.--Auburn’s Kasey Cooper continues to rake in the honors as on Tuesday she was named the SEC Player of the Year as well as the Scholar-Athlete of the Year in the conference. Batting .435 on the season with 19 home runs and 73 RBI, Cooper is in the Top 10 in 10 different offensive categories in the SEC this season and leads the league in home runs, slugging percentage (.939), total bases (138) and walks (53).

Cooper also earned first-team All-SEC honors while teammate Jade Rhodes was named to the second-team. Having a breakout season, Rhodes is batting .374 with 16 home runs and 62 RBI on the season. Rhodes was also named to the All-Defensive team along with Cooper and second baseman Emily Carosone.

The complete 2016 SEC Softball Postseason Awards:

First Team All-SEC

P - Delanie Gourley, Florida

P - Aleshia Ocasio, Florida

P - Kelsey Nunley, Kentucky

IF - Kasey Cooper, Auburn

IF - Alyssa DiCarlo, Georgia

IF - Bianka Bell, LSU

IF - Meghan Gregg, Tennessee

IF - Tori Vidales, Texas A&M

OF - Haylie McCleney, Alabama

OF - Amanda Lorenz, Florida

OF - Sydni Emanuel, Georgia

OF - Emily Crane, Missouri

C - Ashley Walters, Texas A&M

DP/U - Kayli Kvistad, Florida

Second Team All-SEC

P - Sydney Littlejohn, Alabama

P - Chelsea Wilkinson, Georgia

P - Carley Hoover, LSU

IF - Leona Lafaele, Alabama

IF - Jade Rhodes, Auburn

IF - Alex Hugo, Georgia

IF - Tina Iosefa, Georgia

IF - Sami Fagan, Missouri

OF - Kirsti Merritt, Florida

OF - Cortni Emanuel, Georgia

OF - Taylor Gadbois, Missouri

OF - Keeli Milligan, Texas A&M

C - Aubree Munro, Florida

DP/U - Rainey Gaffin, Tennessee

Freshman All-SEC

P - Kelly Barnhill, Florida

P - Matty Moss, Tennessee

P - Samantha Show, Texas A&M

IF - Alyssa DiCarlo, Georgia

IF - Lacey Sumerlin, Georgia

IF - Hailey Lunderman, Ole Miss

IF - Aubrey Leach, Tennessee

IF - Kaitlyn Alderink, Texas A&M

OF - Amanda Lorenz, Florida

OF - Regan Nash, Missouri

OF - Brooke Vines, Tennessee

OF - Keeli Milligan, Texas A&M

C - Reagan Dykes, Alabama

DP/U - Abbey Cheek, Kentucky

SEC All-Defensive

P - Rainey Gaffin, Tennessee

C - Aubree Munro, Florida

1B - Leona Lafaele, Alabama

1B - Jade Rhodes, Auburn

1B - Maisie Steed, Kentucky

1B - Tori Vidales, Texas A&M

2B - Emily Carosone, Auburn

SS - Christian Stokes, Kentucky

3B - Kasey Cooper, Auburn

LF - Kallie Case, Alabama

CF - Haylie McCleney, Alabama

RF - Emily Crane, Missouri

Player of the Year: Kasey Cooper, Auburn

Pitcher of the Year: Kelsey Nunley, Kentucky

Freshman of the Year: Amanda Lorenz, Florida

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Kasey Cooper, Auburn

Coach of the Year: Rachel Lawson, Kentucky

Get The 2016 ITAT Football Guide

Subscribe To


Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories