Former Tiger Rocker Headed To Hall Of Fame

South Bend, Ind.--One of the top defensive linemen in Auburn football history is AU's latest member of the College Football Hall of Fame.

Tracy Rocker, a two-time first team All-American and a three-time All-SEC selection, found out Tuesday that he is the 10th Auburn coach or athlete to be selected for the College Football Hall of Fame.

Rocker, who is currently an assistant coach at the University of Arkansas, won the Outland Trophy and Lombardi Award as an All-American for Coach Pat Dye's teams from 1985-88. He was the first player in SEC history to win the Outland and Lombardi awards in the same season.

Rocker joins former Auburn players Jimmy Hitchcock, Walter Gilbert, Pat Sullivan, Tucker Frederickson, Bo Jackson, Terry Beasley plus coaches John W. Heisman, Mike Donahue and Ralph "Shug" Jordan in the College Hall of Fame.

"It is a dream come true," Rocker said. "I've been nominated before over the past few years, but you never know when it is going to happen. I'm glad to receive such an honor for something I did that long ago. You never know what is going to happen as you get older and this just shows that good things can still happen for you.

"There are so many other great players that came along before I did and there will be many, many more. It's a tremendous honor and privilege for me and my family. One day my kids will be able to see that and that makes me very happy."

The College Football Hall of Fame is located in South Bend, Indiana. To be eligible for selection, players must have received a major first-team All-America recognition and must have had 10 years pass since his last year of intercollegiate football. A player's character and achievements outside football are also considered as part of the induction criteria.

As a senior in 1988, Rocker made 100 tackles for the nation's top-ranked defense. He had 354 career tackles. He led the Tiers to SEC Championships in 1987 and 1988, three Top 10 finishes and three bowl games.

Rocker played for three seasons for Washington Redskins before retiring from the National Football League. He graduated from Auburn in 1993 and has coached at Troy State, West Alabama, Cincinnati and Arkansas.

Other 2004 College Football Hall of Fame inductees include: Bob Anderson, Army; Tony Casillas, Oklahoma; Frank Emanuel, Tennessee; Ray Guy, Southern Mississippi; Wayne Harris, Arkansas; Joe Kapp, California; James Mandich, Michigan; Lydell Mitchell, Penn State; Jack Tatum, Ohio State; Andre Ware, Houston and Charles Young of Southern California. Coaches include LaVell Edwards of Brigham Young and George Welsh of Navy and Virginia.

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories