Awards Piling Up For AU Players, Tuberville

Jason Campbell has won his first SEC Player of the Year honor and his coach has been named the national and SEC coach of the year

Auburn, Ala.--Following Auburn's first Southeastern Conference Championship in 15 years, a large group of Tigers, including head coach Tommy Tuberville and quarterback Jason Campbell, continue to rake in individual awards.

Campbell was named the Associated Press SEC Player of the Year and was joined by 13 other Tigers to receive recognition from the AP.

"Last year was my first full year starting and this year is my second full year starting," says Campbell when asked to explain the big difference in his play from 2003 to 2004. "I think that has a lot to do with it. It has given a chance to be real comfortable."

Campbell also credits the coaching of new offensive coordinator Al Borges for making a positive difference, too. The Tigers will go into the Sugar Bowl as the SEC leader in total offense.

"Coach Borges came in with a great system that gives the quarterback the opportunity to make plays," Campbell says. "He moves the ball around and involves our running backs in different ways. It has just all worked out for the better."

Campbell says the Player of the Year Award was made possible through a group effort. "First, I have to give glory to God," he says. "It's a great honor. I couldn't have done it without my teammates, coaching staff and family. I'm very honored."

With one game remaining, Campbell has 2,511 passing yards, 19 touchdowns and only six interceptions in his senior season. Against Virginia Tech in the Sugar Bowl he will have a chance to set Auburn single season records in passing efficiency, completion percentage and touchdowns. Campbell is only 76 yards away from the second most passing yards in a season as well.

Campbell is also the favorite to be named the SEC Offensive Player of the Year by the SEC coaches. That award is expected to be announced on Wednesday.

Tuberville was National Coach of the Year by The Sporting News and was also named the SEC Coach of the Year by the AP.

"I am honored to be named SEC Coach of the Year," says Tuberville, who has led the Tigers to a school-record 12 victories. "This award is a reflection of all the hard work of the coaches and players this season. This is a team award, not an individual award."

Joining Campbell on the AP first team All-SEC offense are tailback Carnell Williams and tackle Marcus McNeill. Cornerback Carlos Rogers, safety Junior Rosegreen and noseguard T.J. Jackson received first team defensive honors.

Cooper Wallace overcame a preseason injury to earn second team All-SEC honors as a junior.

Tight end Cooper Wallace, running back Ronnie Brown and linebacker Travis Williams were named to the second team and center Jeremy Ingle, offensive tackle Troy Reddick, receiver Courtney Taylor, punter Kody Bliss and defensive end Stanley McClover were selected as honorable mention All-SEC players.

A pair of young defensive ends, Quentin Groves and McClover, were also honored by The Sporting News. Groves was named to the first team Freshman All-American and first team Freshman All-SEC teams. McClover was named a second team Freshman All-American and first team All-SEC performer.

Jason Campbell and Jeremy Ingle, who have worked very well together this season, both have won all-star mention.

Earlier in the week seven Auburn players were selected as first team All-SEC players by the league's coaches--Campbell, Brown, Carnell Williams (as a running back and return specialist), McNeill, Travis Williams, Rogers and Rosegreen. McClover and offensive guard Danny Lindsey were named to the second team.

The tally for postseason individual honors so far for the Tigers is nine offensive players, six defensive players and two special teamers.

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories