AU Host Site For NCAA Softball Regional

Auburn, Ala.--Auburn has been selected as one of 16 regional sites for the NCAA Women's Softball Tournament that will run Friday through Sunday at Jane B. Moore Field on the Auburn University campus.

Baylor is the top-rated team in the field as the No. 15 national seed of the 16 teams to receive a seed in the 64-team tournament. Baylor, which is 47-12 out of the Big 12, will play 37-31 Florida A&M on Friday while Auburn, which is 49-16, will play another team from Tallahassee, Fla. FSU, which is 33-26 out of the ACC, is AU's first opponent.

"All week we have been praying and crossing our fingers and hoping that things would work out good for us," says AU second baseman Lolani Alvarez. "I'm sure that as the days progress we will be more and more excited to know that we are going to have our home crowd behind us."

Auburn, ranked 18th nationally and the second seed in the Auburn regional, is one of eight SEC teams to receive bids to the tournament. FSU is the three seed and Florida A&M is the fourth seed. Alabama won the conference tournament this past weekend

"Not just anybody hosts a regional, and even though we're seeded No. 2, it's awesome to be able to play in front of our home fans," says Auburn catcher Sara Dean.

The Tigers were eliminated from the SEC Tournament on Saturday, falling 7-3 to sixth-ranked Georgia.

The Tigers will open the tournament with a 5 p.m. contest on Friday vs. the Seminoles while Baylor plays Florida A&M at 7:30 p.m.

This is just the third NCAA appearance for the Tigers, who played at FSU in 2002 and at Stanford in 2004. AU did not win either one of those events.

Tickets to Friday's games are $7 for adult reserved seats, $5 for adult general admission and $3 for students. All-session ticket books to the double-elimination event are $25 for adult reserved seats, $15 for adult general admission and $10 for students.

Four other SEC teams are hosts for regional tournaments--Alabama, Florida, Georgia and Tennessee. The other sites are at Arizona, California, Michigan, Northwestern, Oklahoma Oregon State, Stanford, Texas, Texas A&M, UCLA, and Washington. Michigan is the No. 1 national seed.

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories