Tuberville To Receive Another Football Award

Auburn, Ala.--Coach Tommy Tuberville, who has already received six national coach of the year awards following his football team's 13-0 season, will be receiving another honor.

The Touchdown Club of New Orleans announced on Tuesday that the Auburn head coach will receive its second annual Collegiate Award at a ceremony scheduled for June 18 at the Plimsoll Club atop the World Trade Center in New Orleans.

The Tigers finished their season in New Orleans with a victory over Virginia Tech in the Sugar Bowl and finished second nationally. It was a fifth straight bowl appearance for the Tigers and a third straight bowl victory.

Former LSU head coach Nick Saban, now head coach of the Miami's NFL Dolphins, won the award in 2004.

Others who will be receiving awards at the ceremony include former NFL referee Jerry Markbreit with the 17th annual Pete Rozelle Award, Tony Reginelli, a former head coach at Isidore Newman High School in New Orleans who will be honored with the Prep Award, and Buddy Diliberto will receive the Bob Roesler Media Award.

The Auburn coach will be the host of a series of football camps in June. He has been making numerous appearances this spring at Auburn clubs and charity functions as well as spending time cheecking out football prospects for the 2006 signee class.

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories