McNeill, Jackson On Outland Watch List

Auburn, Ala.--A pair of Auburn senior football players have been put on the 2005 Outland Trophy watch list.

Offensive tackle Marcus McNeill , a 2004 All-American, and senior noseguard T.J. Jackson, a 2004 All-SEC pick, have been named to the 2005 Outland Trophy Watch List.

The Outland Trophy is presented annually to college football's most outstanding interior offensive or defensive lineman.

Tommy Jackson is expected to be the anchor of Auburn's defensive front this season.

As a junior, Jackson made 51 tackles, with seven for losses, while starting all 13 games for the unbeaten Tigers. Jackson has also been nominated for the Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List. That award is presented to the nation's outstanding Defensive Player of the Year.

McNeill started all 13 games a year ago and is considered one of the top prop prospects in this year's senior class. He was named to the Coaches' and Associated Press All-SEC First-Team in 2004. The senior has started 28 games in three years with the Tigers.

The senior offensive tackle is also a preseason First-Team All-American by The Sporting News, Lindy's, Athlon Sports and the Blue Ribbon College Football Yearbook.

The watch list includes 36 players from around the country and was announced on Thursday by The Football Writers Association of America.

Auburn's Zeke Smith won the Outland Trophy in 1958 and Tracy Rocker won it in 1988.

The 2005 Outland Trophy announcement will come Dec. 8 in Orlando, Fla., on the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show. The presentation banquet will be held Jan. 12, 2006 in Omaha, Neb. Oklahoma offensive tackle Jammal Brown won the 2004 Outland Trophy winner.

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories