Challenging Schedule Awaits Auburn Baseball Tigers

Auburn, Ala.–-Coming off an inaugural 34-26 season, coach Tommy Slater has a tough road ahead of him in year two as the Auburn baseball Tigers take on perhaps the most challenging schedule in school history in 2006.

Facing two College World Series participants and eight teams that won at least 40 games in 2005, Auburn will begin the season with home series against VMI, Florida State, Hofstra and Elon before hitting the road to face nationally-ranked Arizona State. Coming off a College World Series appearance last season, the Sun Devils should present a stern test for the Tigers and Slater said he's looking forward to making the early season trip.

"I am pumped to play at Arizona State," Slater said. "They are a well-coached team and are coming off a College World Series appearance. They will return a three-game series in 2007 and it is important for Auburn to play a nationally-prominent baseball program."

Auburn will play a total of 28 games against teams that participated in the 2005 NCAA Regionals, including conference road series at Mississippi, Florida, Alabama and Arkansas. Also among the 35 home dates will be series against powerhouses South Carolina, Mississippi State and LSU. Slater said the entire schedule is one he's excited about from beginning to end.

"It is important to play a challenging non-conference schedule to prepare us for the rigors of SEC play," Slater said. "This schedule is built to challenge us right away, which will help this young club grow as a team throughout the season and beyond."

2006 AUBURN BASEBALL SCHEDULE
DATE DAY OPPONENT SITE TIME
Feb. 3 Fri . VMI AUBURN 4pm
Feb. 4 Sat. VMI AUBURN 4pm
Feb. 5 Sun. VMI AUBURN 1pm
Feb. 10 Fri. FLORIDA STATE AUBURN 4pm
Feb. 11 Sat. FLORIDA STATE AUBURN 4pm
Feb. 12 Sun. FLORIDA STATE AUBURN 1pm
Feb. 17 Fri. HOFSTRA AUBURN 4pm
Feb. 18 Sat. HOFSTRA AUBURN 4pm
Feb. 19 Sun. HOFSTRA AUBURN 1pm
Feb. 21 Tue. TROY AUBURN 4pm
Feb. 24 Fri. ELON AUBURN 4pm
Feb. 25 Sat. ELON AUBURN 4pm
Feb. 26 Sun. ELON AUBURN 1pm
Feb. 28 Tue. DAVIDSON AUBURN 4pm
Mar. 3 Fri. at Arizona State Tempe, AZ TBA
Mar. 4 Sat. at Arizona State Tempe, AZ TBA
Mar. 5 Sun. at Arizona State Tempe, AZ TBA
Mar. 10 Fri. BIRMINGHAM SOUTHERN AUBURN 7pm
Mar. 11 Sat. BIRMINGHAM SOUTHERN AUBURN 4pm
Mar. 12 Sun. BIRMINGHAM SOUTHERN AUBURN 1pm
Mar. 14 Tue. APPALACHAIN STATE AUBURN 7pm
Mar. 17 Fri. *SOUTH CAROLINA AUBURN 7pm
Mar. 18 Sat. *SOUTH CAROLINA AUBURN 4pm
Mar. 19 Sun. *SOUTH CAROLINA AUBURN 1pm
Mar. 21 Mon. SAMFORD AUBURN 7pm
Mar. 24 Fri. *at Vanderbilt Nashville, TN TBA
Mar. 25 Sat. *at Vanderbilt Nashville, TN TBA
Mar. 26 Sun. *at Vanderbilt Nashville, TN TBA
Mar. 28 Tue. at Troy Troy, AL 6pm
Mar. 31 Fri. *KENTUCKY AUBURN 7pm
Apr. 1 Sat. *KENTUCKY AUBURN 4pm
Apr. 2 Sun. *KENTUCKY AUBURN 1pm
Apr. 4 Tue. # vs. Samford Birmingham, AL 7pm
Apr. 7 Fri. *at Mississippi Oxford, MS TBA
Apr. 8 Sat. *at Mississippi Oxford, MS TBA
Apr. 9 Sun. *at Mississippi Oxford, MS TBA
Apr. 11 Tues. at South Alabama Mobile, AL 6pm
Apr. 14 Fri. MISSISSIPPI STATE AUBURN 7pm
Apr. 15 Sat. MISSISSIPPI STATE AUBURN 4pm
Apr. 16 Sun. MISSISSIPPI STATE AUBURN 1pm
Apr. 21 Fri. at Florida Gainesville, FL TBA
Apr. 22 Sat. at Florida Gainesville, FL TBA
Apr. 23 Sun. at Florida Gainesville, FL TBA
Apr. 25 Tue. MERCER AUBURN 7pm
Apr. 28 Fri. *at Alabama Tuscaloosa, AL TBA
Apr. 29 Sat. *at Alabama Tuscaloosa, AL TBA
Apr. 30 Sun. *at Alabama Tuscaloosa, AL TBA
May 5 Fri. *LSU AUBURN 7pm
May 6 Sat. *LSU AUBURN 7pm
May 7 Sun. *LSU AUBURN 1pm
May 12 Fri. *GEORGIA AUBURN 7pm
May 13 Sat. *GEORGIA AUBURN 4pm
May 14 Sun. *GEORGIA AUBURN 1pm
May 19 Fri. *at Arkansas Fayetteville, AR TBA
May 20 Sat. *at Arkansas Fayetteville, AR TBA
May 21 Sun. *at Arkansas Fayetteville, AR TBA
May 24-28 Wed.-Sun. SEC Tournament Hoover, Ala. TBA
June 2_4 Fri.-Sun. NCAA Regionals TBA TBA
June 9-11 Fri.-Sun. NCAA Super Regional TBA TBA
June 16-26 Fri.-Mon. College World Series Omaha, Neb.
KEY: TELEVISION:
# Hoover Metropolitan Stadium
* SEC game SEC-TV—Fox SportsNet South, Sunshine Network
All times central unless indicated; CAPS indicate home games CS-TV—Cox Sports Television
As of 02/01/05 LSU—Louisiana Sports Network
SUN—Sunshine Network


Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories