Beasley Headed For College Hall of Fame

Two-time Auburn football All-American Terry Beasley will be inducted into college football's hall of fame later this year.

Auburn, Ala.--Terry Beasley, one of the greatest players in Auburn football history and arguably the top wide receiver to ever suit up for the Tigers, has been selected to the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame.

Beasley was an All-American for the Tigers as a junior in 1970 and a senior in 1971 on teams that featured Heisman Trophy winning quarterback, Pat Sullivan. A three-year starter for the Tigers when freshmen were not eligible for varsity competition, he caught 143 passes for 2,508 yards and 29 touchdowns.

Beasley led the SEC in scoring with 72 points as a junior and also led the league in receptions with 52 for 1,051 yards.

His jersey number, 88, is one of three that have been retired by AU. The others belong to Heisman winners Sullivan and Bo Jackson. Beasley was eighth in the Heisman balloting as a senior.

"I was just numb when I found out about it and I am exuberant," Beasley told Inside the Auburn Tigers. "I am happy for Auburn and I appreciate all of the people who worked so hard to make this possible. Football is a team game and it takes 11 people to be successful on the football field so there are a lot of people who made this possible."

Beasley is still No. 1 on the all-time Auburn receiving list for career yardage (2,507), touchdown receptions (29) and 100-yard receiving games (12). He played for the NFL's San Francisco '49ers after being selected in the first round of the draft, but his pro career was cut short by a series of concussions and other injuries.

As a junior, Beasley set an NCAA record of 20.2 yards per catch. He is a member of the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame and Auburn's All-Century Team.

Joining Beasley for the induction ceremonies, which will take place in New York City in December, will be 12 other players. The group includes: running back George "Sonny" Franck (1969-71) from Minnesota; running back Cosmo Iacavazzi (1962-64) of Princeton; wide receiver John Jefferson (1974-77) of Arizona State; safety Ronnie Lott (1977-80) of Southern Cal; quarterback Dan Marino (1979-82) of Pitt; running back Napoleon McCallum of Navy (1983-85); offensive guard Reggie McKenzie (1969-71) of Michigan; defensive back Randy Rhino (1972-74) of Georgia Tech; offensive tackle Jerry Sisemore (1970-72) of Texas; linebacker Gary Spani of Kansas State (1974-77); defensive tackle Reggie White (1980-83) of Tennessee; and tight end Kellen Winslow (1976-78) of Missouri.

Two coaches were also selected. Earl Bruce of Tampa, Iowa State, Ohio State, North Iowa and Colorado State posted an all-time record of 154-90-2 from 1972-92. Carmen Cozza was 179-119-5 at Yale from 1965-96. Former Auburn coach Pat Dye was also being considered for the hall of fame in the 2002 voting.

Interview With Terry Beasley Plus Photo Gallery

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories