Dye Officially Inducted Into Hall of Fame

New York, N.Y.--Pat Dye became the fourth coach in Auburn history to be inducted into the National Football Foundation's College Hall of Fame.

Dye, who coached for Auburn from 1981-1992, joins former Tiger coaches John W. Heisman, Mike Donahue and Ralph "Shug" Jordan in the Hall of Fame.

Dye and former Bowling Green and West Virginia University coach Don Nehlen were the two coaches inducted at the National Football Foundation's 48th annual awards dinner at the Waldorf-Astoria hotel.

The two coaches and the players in the class received hall of fame rings on Tuesday night during an induction ceremony conducted by two-time Heisman Trophy winner Archie Griffin of Ohio State.

"I'm deeply humbled and very appreciative of this honor," said Dye, who was honored in November by having Auburn's football field at Jordan-Hare Stadium named "Pat Dye Field" as the Tigers took a fourth straight victory over archrival Alabama.

"Being inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame is something that I would have never dreamed of," said Dye. "There are numerous players, coaches and support staff that played a role in our success. I think it's an award for all the people who helped me along the way. I think they're all going to enjoy being a part of it."

Last year Tracy Rocker became the seventh Auburn player inducted into the hall of fame, joining Jimmy Hitchcock, Walter Gilbert, Pat Sullivan, Tucker Frederickson, Bo Jackson and Terry Beasley.

Former Pitt offensive tackle and current ESPN commentator Mark May gave the acceptance speech on behalf of the 2005 hall of fame inductees.

Dye's overall record as a head coach is 153-62-5 in 19 seasons, including a 99-39-4 record in 12 years at Auburn. His first head coaching job was for six seasons at East Carolina (1974-79) and he then spent one season at Wyoming (1980) before taking over at AU.

His Auburn teams won SEC titles in 1983, 1987, 1988 and 1989. The Tigers had four 10-win seasons and won six bowl games in nine appearances under his leadership.

Dye, a three-time SEC Coach of the Year and 1983 National Coach of the Year, is one of only seven coaches in college football history to have coached a winner of the Heisman Trophy (Bo Jackson, 1985), Outland Trophy (Tracy Rocker, 1988) and Lombardi Trophy (Tracy Rocker, 1988). He coached 21 All-Americans, 71 All-SEC players and 48 Academic All-SEC players at Auburn.

Dye will also be honored in an enshrinement ceremony next August at the College Football Hall of Fame next August in South Bend, Ind.

Players inducted into the hall of fame's 2005 class include: Cornelius Bennett, Alabama, 1983-86; Tom Curtis, Michigan, 1967-69; Anthony Davis, Southern California, 1972-74; Keith Dorney, Penn State, 1975-78; Jim Houston, Ohio State, 1957-59; John Huarte, Notre Dame, 1962-64; Roosevelt Leaks, Texas, 1972-74 ; Mark May, Pittsburgh, 1977-80; Joe Washington, Oklahoma, 1972-75; Paul Wiggin, Stanford, 1954-56 and David Williams, Illinois, 1983-85.

Inside the Auburn Tigers Magazine For Christmas Gifts

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories