McNeill Wins SEC's Jacobs Award

Auburn's senior offensive tackle has picked up another honor.

Auburn, Ala.--All-American offensive tackle Marcus McNeill has been named the winner of the Jacobs Trophy, which is presented annually to the Southeastern Conference's top blocker.

McNeill, who is one of three finalists for the Outland Trophy that will be announced on Thursday night, broke into the starting lineup for the Tigers as an All-SEC Freshman team selection in 2002. He has not given up a quarterback sack in 41 consecutive games, dating back to his first season with the Tigers.

McNeill, a 6-9, 338-pounder, has 38 career starts for the Tigers. He was an unanimous All-SEC pick by the league's coaches earlier in the week and also made the All-SEC team selected by AP and the All-American squad selected by Sports Illustrated.

Marcus McNeill

The former Cedar Grove High star from Decatur, Ga., will be in Orlando, Fla., on Thursday for ESPN's annual college football awards show where he will find out if he is the third Outland Trophy winner in Auburn history, joining Tracy Rocker and Zeke Smith. That award is presented annually to the nation's top interior lineman on either offense or defense.

McNeill is the fourth Tiger to win the Jacobs Trophy. Offensive guard Lloyd Cheatham won it in 1940, fullback Tucker Frederickson won it in 1963 and 1964 and tackle Kendall Simmons was the winner in 2001.

With McNeill on the offensive front, the Tigers lead the SEC in points per game at 34.2 and total offense with 425.6 yards per contest.

Vandy QB Jay Cutler was named the league's offensive player of the year while linebacker DeMeco Ryans of Alabama won the defensive award. Georgia's Mark Richt was named the league's coach of the year.

Inside the Auburn Tigers Magazine For Christmas Gifts

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories