Ed Dyas Named To Hall Of Fame Ballot

Auburn, Ala.--Former Auburn All-American Ed Dyas is one of 77 individuals on the 2006 College Football Hall of Fame ballot, the National Football Foundation announced Thursday.

Dyas, who played fullback and kicker, lettered at Auburn from 1958-60. He was named First-Team All-America and First-Team All-SEC in 1960 as he led the Tigers in both rushing and scoring. He currently ranks fifth in Auburn history with a .708 field goal percentage.

Dyas, a Mobile native, was a NFF National Scholar-Athlete in 1960 and was a three-time Academic All-Conference selection before being selected in the fifth round of the 1961 NFL Draft by Baltimore.

Dyas is vying to become the 12th former Auburn player or coach to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. Coaches Mike Donahue (1951) and John W. Heisman (1954) were the first two honored, followed by Jimmy Hitchcock (1954), Walter Gilbert (1956), head coach Ralph "Shug" Jordan (1982), Pat Sullivan (1991), Tucker Frederickson (1994), Bo Jackson (1998), Terry Beasley (2002) and Tracy Rocker (2004). Legendary head coach Pat Dye is Auburn's most recent inductee, earning the honor in 2005.

The Hall of Fame ballot is mailed this week to more than 12,000 National Football Foundation members whose votes will be used to select this year's class. The Hall of Fame class will be announced at a press conference in New York City on May 16. The induction ceremony in New York will take place on Dec. 5.

To be eligible to be placed on the ballot, players must have been named a First Team All-America by a major/national selector, played their last year of college football at least 10 years prior and have played within the last 50 years. Players must also be retired from professional football.

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories