Banner Day For Auburn Swimmers

Auburn, Ala.--Several hundred fans joined members of the Auburn women's swimming team on Tuesday evening for an official ceremony to hang the 2002 NCAA Championship banner from the rafters of the James E. Martin Aquatics Center.

Coach David Marsh said that he hopes it is the first of many such banners to be displayed for the women's swimming team, which became the first AU women's squad to win an NCAA team championship.

The Tigers are expected to be very strong again next season.

Members of the women's swimming team climbed onto the catwalk over the pool and dropped the banner to the cheers of the crowd and music from the university's pep band. It joins two blue national championship banners that represent national titles won by the men's team in 1997 and 1999.

All-American swimmer Maggie Bowen, who addressed the crowd, said the the women's team will be shooting for national title No. 2 next March when the NCAA Women's Swimming and Diving Championship comes to Auburn for the first time.

Maggie Bowen

AU won the 2002 title in Austin, Tex., in what was the fastest meet in NCAA women's swimming history with a squad that did not include any seniors. Jenni Anderson, Bowen, Demerae Christianson, Eileen Coparropa, Kirsty Coventry, Magda Dyszkiewicz, Margaret Hoelzer, Heather Kemp, Cassidy Maxwell, Becky Short and Laura Swander represented AU at last year's championships.

Inside The AU Tigers Top Stories